DIY Friday

Standard

It’s Friday! I can’t possibly tell you how excited I am for this weekend. Not only do I have my computer back (finally!) but I’m also spending the weekend with many friends, some of whom I haven’t seen in quite a while! And that makes me very excited. Especially because the reason that I’m going to be seeing many of them is because one of my best friends from high school is getting married!

This is the first wedding that I’ll be attending after our own. I did go to my mom’s cousin’s wedding ceremony the weekend after Shaun and I got married, but I wasn’t technically invited – my mom was just looking for a church buddy. I must say, choosing wedding gifts for people is now much more difficult that we’ve been through the whole process. I know a lot of guests put a lot of thought and time into the gifts that they chose for us, and I really want to continue the tradition of doing the same for them, especially my close friends. If it was up to Shaun, we’d just have written them a check and called it a day. But not this girl! In addition to getting them a gift card to a store where they registered, I decided to DIY a little home decor featuring their new monogram. (Don’t worry, I’m not ruining the surprise by putting it on here…she’s way too busy today to be reading my blog!)

I didn’t get a chance to take pictures of the process because I left my camera at home last weekend and was kind of under a time crunch to get the project done, but this is the final product, minus the ribbon that it will hang from!

This project was actually really simple, and really fun! I bought all of the pieces separately from JoAnn Fabrics – the wooden letters, one bunch of those white flowers, paint primer, paint, and a sealer. I primed the wood, added several coats of paint to each of the letters, and sealed them after everything was dry. I attached the smaller letters to the large one with E6000 glue, and when that was all dry I added the flower as well. The last step will be adding little hooks and a ribbon so that the wall hanging can actually…hang.

And because I didn’t want to completely start a new project without having tried it before (especially when I planned on giving the final result as a wedding gift…) I made one for our apartment as well!

It was after I added the flowers to our own monogram hanging that I decided to only add one on the hanging for my friends. Maybe it’s the narrower shape of the “H” than the “W”, but they’re definitely overpowering my “K.” I still love it though!

The total cost of the project was under $20 – the big letters were about $5 each and the little letters were about $2 each. The biggest expense was probably the paint, but I have a lot left over for future projects!

Do you like monogram home decor as a wedding gift idea? Have you ever made a wedding gift for someone? If so, what was it?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

