Bookworm

Standard

Happy Thursday, everyone! I’m really starting to love Thursdays…it’s the part of the week where I no longer have class and can spend my days finally catching up on all of the work that I need to get done before the end of the week. This week that means a cite-checking packet for the journal that I’m on, catching up with clients and other stuff at work, and (of course) the homework I’ve been slightly neglecting. But today is an extra special Thursday…one where I get to reveal how big of a geek I really am to the entire Internet. Ready? Of course you are!

What makes today so special, you ask? JK Rowling’s new novel for adults, The Casual Vacancy is being released today!

I pre-ordered it for my Nook, and I’m really excited to start reading it. Although I must admit, it’s going to be weird opening a new Rowling novel (figuratively, of course, since I’ll be reading on an e-reader) and not feeling the urge to read and read and read until I’ve digested all of it within 24 to 48 hours. Yeah…that’s how I read each of the Harry Potter books.

In case you haven’t gleaned this yet, I’m a bit of a Potter-head. And by bit, I mean…well…it may have played a role in how we chose our honeymoon destination for December. (Wizarding World of Harry Potter, I am so ready for you!) My favorite radio station in Madison recently completely changed their format and the style of music that they play, and I was so frustrated by the change that I decided I wasn’t going to listen to the radio anymore. Between my rides to and from campus every day and my 3 hour each-way drives home each weekend, I spend a lot of time in my car. So what have I been listening to? Harry Potter, of course.

Two summers ago when I was driving back and forth a lot to Green Bay for work, I listened to the 7th book to help the time pass more quickly. Trust me when I say it’s way better than hearing the same 5 to 10 songs played over and over again. So when they cancelled my only radio station worth listening to, I decided to start with book 5…the book that I only read once because I was so distraught over (spoiler alert) Sirius’ death. It was even better than I remembered, and now I’m currently listening to book 6. The 3 hour drives from Madison to Green Bay and back fly by when I have an actual story to listen to. And I’ve actually found that listening to the books as opposed to reading them (after having read them previously, of course) means that I hear all of the little details I might gloss over by reading certain parts too quickly. It’s an entirely different experience, and it’s wonderful for a series like Harry Potter. After I finish 6, I’m planning on going through the whole series from start to finish!

In addition to listening to Harry Potter and reading Ms. Rowling’s new book on the side, I also bought the novel Gone Girl before school started because I’d read from several other bloggers how amazing it was.

I really like it so far, but I haven’t gotten too far into it yet because of all of the reading I’ve had to do for school. Obviously, I have high aspirations for my “free time”…whenever I find some.

Are you currently reading a great book (or two!)? And what are your feelings about books on tape? I like them…but only after I’ve “properly” read the book at least once…otherwise it’s cheating!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

2 responses »

    • I’ll let you know for sure! I think you can share just about any book (but only for 2 weeks) – I’ll for sure let you borrow it once I’m done if you’d like to start it and evaluate for yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

