A Pity Party

Standard

Let me tell you, blog friends…I am so glad it’s the weekend. It’s been a crazy week, and not in a good way for most of it.

First of all, I decided to try out for my law school’s mock trial team this week, which took up most of my brain power and time. Luckily, the tryout went ok, and I’ll be finding out this week whether or not I made the team. I have about a 50/50 chance, and I’m really hoping I made it…but I’m trying not to get my hopes up, just in case. You know how that goes.

Thankfully the worst of it didn’t happen until after the tryouts were over (I don’t think I could have handled the stress!) but my computer decided to stop working Wednesday morning while I was trying to make up hours at work. When I took my Macbook Air to the Apple Store in Madison, they told me that it was a problem with the keyboard, and that they were going to order a new part and fix it in the store. Everything was covered under warranty. Easy peasy.

On Thursday, I got a call from Apple saying they had gotten the part and were trying to replace it, they found extensive “liquid damage” inside of my computer. I don’t really know how that happened, but it meant two things: 1) the repair was no longer under warranty and 2) there were several other important parts of my computer that needed to be fixed in addition to the keyboard. They quoted me a price that made my no-income-living-on-student-loans heart drop, and told me that if I wanted to back up my files before they sent it to be fixed, I had to bring in an external hard drive. But if I did these things, and did the repair through Apple, my computer would still be under warranty for the remaining 2 years of my AppleCare plan.  I cried a bit, vented to some friends, decided to just pay for the fix, and brought in a hard drive. I was upset, but was starting to get over it. At least I would have my computer and all of my files back, and my computer would still be under warranty, right?

On Friday night, I got another call from Apple. The external hard drive that I had provided was failing, and so after more than a day of being hooked up to my computer, not even half of my files had been transferred. I could risk not backing them up and just send it to be fixed, bring in a new hard drive, or have Apple open up one of their new ones and add it to my bill, to be paid when I picked up my computer after it was done being fixed. Now friends, I knew that hard drive had been acting funny, but I figured it was something that I was doing wrong. And right about that time, I felt like nothing could go right where my computer was concerned. I can’t lose all of my files, so chancing it was not an option (especially when the rep told me that one of the damaged pieces was the internal drive, so that it was actually pretty likely everything would be lost). At this point I had already headed home for the weekend, so if I were to bring in a new drive purchased from WalMart or something, I’d have to wait until Monday to even get this stupid repair process started. So I sucked it up and bought the Apple hard drive…another expense, but at least I’ll get something new to take home with me at the end of this, I guess.

I can only hope that by now my computer is backed up properly and on its way to the Apple “Depot” for repair. I love my Macbook, but this whole process has kind of disenfranchised me to the brand as a whole. And it’s made for a very stressful week. Now I’m spending the weekend doing homework on my husband’s PC desktop and DIY’ing a few crafty projects on the side to make myself feel better.

Do you ever have days where you just feel the need to throw yourself a pity party? I apologize for the extensive feeling-sorry-for-myself-ness of this post, but I think it’s helped a bit to get it all off of my chest. What do you do to make yourself feel better when nothing seems to go right?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

  1. Pingback: A Truly Manic Monday « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

