All That Glitters

Standard

I’m really loving metallics for fall, and it’s been cooler this week…fall weather is finally here! So I decided to wear a little bit of a darker look to celebrate. I can’t tell you how happy I am that we’re getting into jean and sweater weather. This weekend I was up at home for the Packer game and Shaun and I were house/dog-sitting for my parents who are on a vacation to celebrate their 25th anniversary right now, so I decided to borrow a few of my mom’s nail polishes for a mani while Shaun was at work one day. I may have been persuaded when I saw this sitting on the counter…

I’ve been wanting to try a glitter polish for a while now, and my mom did the hard part for me…buying the polish! These gold flecks were so fun that I knew I had to try them out, so I went rummaging for a darker fall color to go along with it.

Base coat: Sally Hansen Nail Nutrition Green Tea & Bamboo Strengthener
Main color: Avon Speed-Dry Enamel “Plum/Prune”
Accent color: Wet n’ Wild Fergie “Glamorous”

I was hoping that the base color would be more brown, but it’s actually closer to a deep mauve (which makes sense when you look at the name on the bottom of the bottle…) Either way, I really like this look! The combo of the dark polish plus the gold glitter is really making me happy each time I glimpse at my nails – I love the sparkle! My only regret is that I didn’t bring my bottle of Seche Vite top coat home with me…running around after the dogs meant that a couple of my nails smudged pretty quickly and I had a harder time cleaning up the edges of my nails without my own stuff. But I didn’t have to buy any new polish for an awesome mani, so I’m loving this look!

Linking up with Mani Monday and the Nail Files!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

9 responses »

    • Thanks! It’s one of those colors that doesn’t photograph true to in-person…it’s much more maroon/burgundy in person, but in the bottle and pictures it looks brown! I don’t get it, haha.

Leave a Reply

