Learning to Accessorize

Standard

I don’t wear a lot of big, costumey jewelry…therefore I don’t usually buy a lot of big, costumey jewelry. In fact, the only jewelry I wear on a reguar basis are the earrings that I almost never to take out (except to replace every 6 months or so) and my wedding ring. But I’m slowly trying to expand my wardrobe with sensible, versatile pieces. I saw this animal-print necklace at Dress Barn when I was buying a dress to wear to some weddings this fall recently, and I (or rather, my mom) had a $15 off coupon. In the end, I fell so in love with this necklace that I convinced my mom to give me her coupon (she wasn’t going to use it anyway…right?) so that I could get the $30 for $15 plus some tax…not too shabby!

I love animal prints and metallics for fall, and this is a subtle way to work both into an outfit without going crazy.

In true “I don’t wear costume jewelry” fashion, I bought the necklace and it sat, unworn, on my dresser for two weeks. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to wear it! I just couldn’t find the “right” outfit to pair it with. Obviously, this is a statement piece, and it kind of overwhelms just a simple jeans-and-tshirt look. But late last week I had an informational interview/job shadow at a law firm in Green Bay and ended up going to court with one of the attorneys to watch a contested custody hearing…so I decided to pair the necklace with the suit that I wore to the interview. And the result was pretty spectacular, if I do say so myself.

I think the bold necklace works well in this outfit because the suit is structured and a bit heavy, which to me balances out the “heavy” look of the large necklace. And the jewelry really makes this boring court-outfit a lot more fun looking!

Do you wear a lot of statement jewelry? Or are you just learning how to work it into your wardrobe, like me?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

