One Day Off, Two Pinterest Recipes

Standard

What’s a girl to do on a lazy government holiday? Cook, of course! In order to avoid doing my homework for the first day of school (I’ll admit it, I’m a little sad to be back to the grind…) I spent yesterday morning trying out a few new recipes that I found on Pinterest. One was amazing, the other was just ok but I think I’ll stockpile it for future family dinners or dinner parties.

Recipe 1: French Onion Soup

I’m a french onion soup junkie. Every time we go out to eat, if french onion is on the soup menu, I have to get it. I’ve found some awesome restaurants with french onion soup, but I have yet to make a great batch at home. That is…until now. 

See that glorious crock of soup? I made that. From scratch.

The first thing you should know about this soup is that it takes a long time. Like, over 2 hours. But the second thing that you should know is that the individual steps aren’t that hard, you can leave it alone for most of the time (a lot of carmelizing, simmering, etc.), and it’s worth every second of the wait. My husband hates onions, but I am definitely making this soup again!

The best part is that there aren’t many ingredients at all either, I made this without even making a trip to the grocery store! I adjusted the amount of other ingredients based on the amount of onion that I had (one medium sized yellow onion, so I ended up using 4 cups of water instead of 8) and it made two full crocks of soup…one for now, and one for later! You can find the original recipe by following the Pinterest link above or clicking here.

Recipe 2: Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower

Maybe it’s just because I made this dish as a side to go with the french onion soup that is now the new love of my life, but I wasn’t crazy about this cauliflower puree as a side dish. The pin and corresponding blog post where I found the recipe claim that the recipe is “better than potatoes”…which I must take serious issue with. It’s good as a “doesn’t look like a vegetable but is a vegetable” side dish, but it needed more flavor. I’m not sure what else I could have done…I upped the amount of butter than what was called for in the recipe and added more milk to make it creamier (I didn’t have heavy cream, so I substituted what I did have – skim milk). It was still lacking. Maybe a different type of cheese would help.

It didn’t taste awful, and probably would have paired well with a different  main dish, which is why I’m willing to try making it again. When I do, I’m definitely going to need a bigger food processor than the mini one that I used this time though…it took at least 5 rounds to get all of the cauliflower pureed! All in all, I think this is an ok idea and I’m going to try it again sometime in the future – I’ll report back if it works better with other main dishes.

Have you tried any new recipes lately? How did it work out?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

