Homemade Butterfingers, as seen on Pinterest

Standard

I love Pinterest, and I’m notorious for pinning recipes and DIY projects that I may or may not ever get to. While I’ve still got a to-do list based on my boards that’s a mile long, one recipe that I knew I had to try was these homemade butterfingers. When I saw they only included three ingredients, I was hooked! (Find the recipe here.)

The hardest part was honestly finding the “secret ingredient” – candy corn – out of season! Luckily, our local farm/hardware store has an extensive old-fashioned candy section (they don’t call it the “man’s mall” for nothing…) so when I struck out at Walmart I was 99% sure that I’d find it at Fleet Farm, and I was right! But candy corn will be readily available in less than a month, and if you’re like me and don’t care for the stuff, this is the perfect way to put it to good use. My husband absolutely loved these! I had to give a bunch to family and friends so we didn’t eat the whole lot ourselves.

Have you ever made a “homemade” version of popular candy bars? Or made a recipe that included a surprising ingredient?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

Leave a Reply

