Couch to 5K – Week 1 is Done!

Standard

This week, I decided to get off of my butt and start making some changes. Since the wedding, I’ve done close to no exercise and it’s starting to show in my energy levels and my moods. I really did feel much better last April and May when I was regularly exercising, even if my pant size and scale number didn’t reflect the work I was putting in.

Once I moved out to my new apartment, I found it more difficult to get to the gym on campus, because it really wasn’t on my way home anymore. I’ve never been a runner, but I’ve also never given it a really good try…I always get tired of it or have a hard time sticking to the schedule that I set for myself. That’s why I’m trying the Couch to 5K program. It’s only 9 weeks long and 3 days a week. Even I can stick to that plan.

So there’s my “before” pic (Hey, it wouldn’t be an awful “before” pic if it wasn’t taken in a mirror, right? That’s me just after completing Week 1, Day 1 of C25K. Which explains the messy hair as well.) I’m not sure if this journey will lead to substantial weight loss, but I’m hoping that with the support of my husband, family and friends, it will lead to a healthier life overall. I’ve run 5K races before, but this time I’m going to aim for something bigger. Whether it’s the Crazylegs 8K in April or the Bellin 10K in June, I’d like to run (for the first time in my life) something longer than a 5K. The most I’ve ever run at once was 4 miles, and that was just coming off of band season my sophomore year of college. I’ve got a long way to go, but I think that with the right support I can do it.

Have you tried the Couch to 5K program? Did it help you learn to like running? I really want to like running!

2 responses »

  1. Hi,
    I LOVE C25K!
    I started it ages ago and its been awesome. I had a few weeks where I had to slow down and even stop it at one point as I was getting shin splints. But now, armed with orthotics, I can run non stop for 20mins! I have to admit, the first weeks were hell, but its an easy and rewarding way to get fit, and run! Congratulations on starting it, I will follow your progress, keep it up!
    Cheers
    RunninBear

  2. I haven’t done C25K but I started running after I got my puppy and would see others running while I was out there walking him. I didn’t understand why anyone would WANT to run, but I gave it a try. It was tough, it was awful, I hated it initially but I kept going. Three years later I love running and cannot imagine my life without it. I hope you find that too! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

