Date Day: Milwaukee County Zoo

Standard

Our date night for August was actually a date day instead – on a weekend that Shaun was visiting Madison, we decided to head over to Milwaukee. Shaun convinced me that the reason he wanted to go was to see the “dinosaur” exhibit that’s at the Milwaukee County Zoo this summer. What he conveniently forgot to mention was this…

If you think a grown man getting excited about a robotic dinosaur exhibit is geeky, wait until I tell you that he is absolutely obsessed with trains. Real trains, miniature diesel amusement park trains, model trains, you name it. Among other things, I got him a DVD from the History Channel called “Extreme Trains” for Christmas last year, which turned into us planning a trip to Seattle and Portland next spring via an Amtrak passenger train that runs from Chicago to Seattle. I’m beyond excited, but like I said, the man is obsessed. But I digress, I was talking about the zoo. Which, of course, has a train. It all made sense as soon as I saw it – he wanted to go for the dinosaur exhibit…but he mostly wanted to go for the train.

Regardless of his motives, our date day at the zoo was actually a lot of fun! It was nice to get away from Madison for the day (although you’ll never convince me that any zoo is better than my beloved Henry Vilas Zoo, which is always free), and to spend our monthly date doing something other than dinner and a movie for a change.

Have you ever done a “day date” with your significant other? Where did you go?

Here are a few more pics from the day:

Shaun is a dairy farmer. What are the first animals that we see at a zoo that’s over an hour away? Cows.

One thing the Vilas Zoo lacks is an elephant, so I was pretty pumped to see this fine lady.

Warthog

Impala

And the dinos – some were cooler than others

Shaun controlling the robot dino – it was actually pretty cool to see all of the moving parts!

He made me try it out too (As a side note, I have not worn those shoes since that day despite how cute they are and how much I love them- walking around the zoo with absolutely no support was an awful idea…I made sure to invest in some better, more comfortable shoes for our upcoming honeymoon to Disney!)

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

