Kate & Rose

Standard

“Happy” Monday friendlies! My manicure this week features the two colors that came in my very first Julep Maven box – Kate and Rose. I decided to try something a little bit fancier than just a plain one-color look…which is a big step for me, because it turns out I’m really awful at fancy manicures (and by “fancy”, I mean anything more than just one color with a topcoat of sparkles). Maybe I just need more practice? Anyway, here’s what I came up with:

Don’t mind the corgi pup trying to sneak into the picture…

White: Julep Kate
Pink: Julep Rose
Top coat: Wet ‘n Wild Rock Solid (again, what’s a mani without a little sparkle?)

As for the Julep polish itself, it’s pretty thick, which makes application super easy. On the flip side, though, that means that this polish takes a little longer to dry than I’m used to (which resulted in a few smudges…oops). I’ll just have to give myself a bit more time to let me next Julep polish mani dry so that it doesn’t happen again. My mom used one of the polishes to give herself a pedi too, and she was impressed with it as well. So there, you go…kid tested, mother approved!

If you’d like to become a Julep Maven and get your first box for $.01, just click on over to Julep. Again, I’m not cool enough to have a sponsored post or anything, I just happen to think this is a pretty great deal and a neat way to try new colors 🙂

Linking up with the Nail Files!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

6 responses »

  1. Looking good lady! If you are ever looking for a new top coat, I am IN LOVE with Seche Vite top coat. You can get it at sally beauty (there’s one off whitney way). It dries in seconds and is hard as rocks. I will never stray from it! When I did a similar mani 2 weeks ago I used it after the first color, and within like 2 minutes I could use the tape without any smudges. life saver!

    • Thanks for the tip! I’m really looking forward to trying out new nail looks…I may be “beauty challenged” a lot of the time, but I’ve found that I really like having a new mani to look forward to each week. 🙂 I just bought Sally Hansen “Diamond Shine” topcoat from Target, but if that one doesn’t work out well I’ll have to try out the one you recommended!

Leave a Reply

