Date Night: The Dark Knight Rises

Standard

After more than 2 years, Shaun and I are pretty much experts at the whole long distance thing. That’s not to say we enjoy it, but we’re used to the drill by now. We see each other pretty much every weekend, but we’re still apart during the week. Now, I suppose this is true of any marriage or long term relationship, but one thing we’ve noticed is that it’s really easy to get caught up in things that we have to do when we see each other (usually fulfilling commitments that we make to go out with other people). So earlier this year, we made a commitment to do a “date night” at least once a month, just the two of us.

Sometimes we take a long time to plan out the date night, other times it comes up as a spur of the moment thing. Sometimes it’s just dinner somewhere nice, other times its something more. The only rule for date night is that we can’t spend it sitting at home doing nothing! Although, I must admit, a lot of times that’s really nice too.

This July, we celebrated our wedding…hands down the most important and public celebration of our love. It would have been easy to justify skipping July’s “date night.” But there was one week that I was pretty crabby towards Shaun because of some things that were stressing me out with school, so the opening weekend of “The Dark Knight Rises,” I got us tickets to go see it.

(Source)

Needless to say, that pretty much made up for the earlier crabbiness. It didn’t hurt that I was actually really excited to see the movie too…but this way I got brownie points in the process.

I’m not much of a movie critic, but I really liked this one. I tend to get bored during action movies, but this whole trilogy has been head and shoulders above the rest of the action and comic book movies that we’ve seen recently. Shaun and I usually have very different tastes in movies, but this was one we definitely both agreed on. Of the three movies in this set, I’d say “The Dark Knight Rises” was my favorite.

Do you go on regular dates with your significant other? Do you plan and schedule them ahead of time, or just decide to do things on a whim? And what was your favorite date? We’re looking for more ideas (the cheaper, the better)!

Leave a Reply

