The Cure for DIY Withdrawal

Standard

We’re still waiting for professional pictures (I’m trying to be patient, we know it could take a month or longer!), but one of the biggest compliments that I got on the day of the wedding was about how nice all of the little details were. The best part about that compliment was that, as you know, a lot of those little details were DIY projects that I worked on throughout the course of our engagement. From the invitations to the programs, to my shoes and headband, to the family wedding photo wall and many, many others, our wedding was full of details that made our big day very special and very personal for Shaun and me. The fact that my time and hard work went into those details really did make the wedding itself much more special, and the compliments more sweet.

Now that the wedding is over, Shaun and I have been spending a lot of time moving into our apartments, putting away the beautiful wedding gifts that we received, settling in. Now that I’m not looking for wedding inspiration on Pinterest, I’ve found a lot of cute projects that I think would make our homes much more “us” – and I’m getting the DIY itch again to make it happen!

Here are a few of the projects I’m thinking about undertaking in the near future:

Last Name Wall Decoration

Scrapbook Paper Coasters

Jewelry Board – actually made by one of my very good friends!

Dinner Planning Chalkboard

Photo Collage – I’d like to do something like this with our fingerprint tree, some wedding photos and a print with the text of our wedding vows

Now, obviously I’m not going to be able to finish all of these…I don’t think I’d have the wall space to hang them all if I did! But I really like the idea of adding personal touches that make a house (or an apartment) feel more like a home. And it’s even better if you can DIY those projects instead of spending a small fortune on them. 🙂 Have you DIY’ed any of the art or “little details” that grace your home? I’d love to see if you have!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

