It’s Here

Standard

Today is the day. The day that we’ve been planning for since January 6, 2011. The day that I’ve laughed, cried, fought and stressed about for 18 months. The day that I marry my best friend. The day that I become his wife, and he becomes my husband.

In some ways, it’s been a long road to get here. There have been a lot of twists and turns, changing plans, excitement and disappointment. But in the end, Shaun and I will be married. No matter what happens, we will be married.

I’m only a little bit nervous. In many ways, I think I’m calmer than a lot of my family members. The past week, I got stressed about little things as they arose, but in general I’m not worried. I’m not freaking out. I’m ready to do this. But at the same time, I know that it’s only one day. At the end of that day, not too much will have changed. We’ll have different titles, and I’ll have a different last name (theoretically, if not legally…*yet*). But even though today is the day that we promise “forever” and sign the paper that makes it official, it really has been that way since the day I agreed to marry him. Probably even before that. So today I get my “Mrs.” degree, but in many ways this ceremony will just affirm the commitments that we’ve made to each other over and over and over again. To love, honor and cherish each other forever.

So I hope that today is everything that we hoped it would be. I want to have a great time, and I want for everything to go smoothly. I can’t wait to celebrate with all of our family and friends. But mostly I can’t wait to see Shaun, and to tell him how much I love him. Because really, that’s what this whole thing is all about.

Leave a Reply

