The Wedding Shoe Saga

Standard

The big day is tomorrow…eek!! I almost can’t believe it, since we’ve been planning this shindig for 18 MONTHS now. Today I’m going to spend a good chunk of time at the spa in the morning, then we have rehearsal and dinner at night. So in honor of all of this finally wrapping up, today’s post is going to be one last wedding project…one that I actually took on at the last minute. As you can tell from the title of this post, my wedding shoes were involved.


My  shoes, pics from Zappos.

I bought my dress, veil and shoes all at the same small shop near my hometown. It’s a tiny boutique and the owner is awesome. She’s definitely one of a kind, some might even say a bit eccentric, but she’s good at what she does – making people look awesome in formal wear.

When it came to the shoes, I needed a heel somewhere between 1 and 2 inches tall because we special-ordered the length of my dress. I quickly found that no matter how hard I tried, it is very difficult to find cute shoes at that height. Cute flats, yes. Cute heels, yes. Cute heels between 1 and 2 inches? Not so much.

So when I went for my first fitting I tried those shoes on because they were the closest thing I could find and the owner assured me that they were very comfortable. I thought I was just putting the shoes on to see what the dress length looked like with shoes, but at the end of the visit (with my mother and the consultant telling me over and over how important comfort is on your wedding day, especially your shoes) I committed to getting them in ivory. The problem? The shoes were $70…with a $20 dyeing fee because they only came in white, and they had to be dyed ivory to match my dress. It’s not that I hated those shoes, I just didn’t feel like they were very special, and that I paid way too much money for something that I didn’t love. I felt like I might have been pressured into buying shoes that I didn’t want…and I wasn’t sure if they were special enough to be my wedding shoes.

So I decided to take matters into my own hands. I didn’t have enough money to buy a new pair of shoes, so I decided to up the wow factor on the shoes I did have by strassing the heel. To give you an idea, here’s what a strassed shoe looks like:

A “professionally” strassed Louboutin

DIY strassing via Weddingbee

Because my shoes are strappy sandals, I decided to just strass the heel. It made the project much more cost effective (because I didn’t have to cover an entire shoe in crystals!) I also decided to save money by using 3mm rhinestones instead of Swarovsky crystals. While I’m sure the Swarovsky would have looked nicer, the rhinestones were about 1/10th of the cost, and give just the “bling” factor to the shoes that I was looking for. I didn’t want to break the bank on this project, so Swarovsky’s just weren’t an option for me. In all, each heel needed approximately 500 rhinestones. I spent about $6 on E6000 glue to hold them on, and about $20 total for the rhinestones, making the total cost of my shoes just over $100. Not too bad, and I like them much better now!

Before:

After:

The rhinestones didn’t photograph very well, but in person they perfectly match the little details on the front of the shoe. Now they’re sparkly, fabulous and fitting for a 23-year old bride. 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Cure for DIY Withdrawal « Life. Love. Law.

  2. Pingback: Wedding Recaps: Completed DIY Projects! « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

