Lost…the Wedding Week Crisis

Standard

This weekend marked exactly one week until Shaun and I officially (finally!) tie the knot! Which is great…except when the unavoidable wedding week crisis hits.

We were at my aunt’s birthday party on Saturday, and of course my aunts started making fun of my over-planning. I recently typed out a wedding day itinerary and emailed it to everyone who might need it – the bridal party, everyone who’s helping out, vendors. This is what wedding planners do, right? I don’t have a wedding planner, so I took care of it myself…maybe more for my peace of mind than anything else. Now, I’m not going to freak out if the day doesn’t go exactly according to plan. But there has to be a plan in order for things to not go according to plan. Amiright?

Anywho, when my aunts were trying to “talk some sense” into me about my expectations for the day (which really aren’t as unrealistic as they may think), I told them that everything will be fine, because we have the marriage license. One of them piped up: “Yep, just the marriage license and the rings!” Cue my heart sinking. Because earlier that day, I realized that we could not find Shaun’s ring. Anywhere.

I showed you Shaun’s ring a few months ago after I had picked it up from the jeweler’s. At that time, it had not yet been sized. In April, we took it back to the jeweler’s to do just that. In May, I picked it up from the jeweler’s on the weekend of my shower. I had Shaun try it on. It fit. We put it back in the bag. And put it away…somewhere.

This weekend, I realized that the ring was not in any one of the several locations it might have been – with my jewelry, with the other wedding things, in the safe where it had stayed prior to the sizing. Nowhere. We turned my parents’ house upside down. I checked everywhere that made sense in both of my apartments. Still no ring. Needless to say, I felt awful. What bride-to-be loses her groom’s wedding band?

Eventually, I had to ‘fess up to Shaun and admit that the ring was nowhere to be found. We made an emergency trip to the mall last night and ordered a new ring. It sort of looks the same…not as nice (and not made of gold…) but it will be a decent replacement.

 

The “replacement” ring, from Ashcroft & Oak

So now I’m just hoping that the original ring turns up some time…maybe not before the big day, but any time would be nice. Especially since it wasn’t insured. And because I still like the original ring much better. But at least I’ll have something to put on his finger on Saturday when he becomes my husband.

Have you ever had a last minute crisis? Wedding-related or otherwise? Is it as embarrassing as losing your future husband’s wedding band, because I’m mortified right now!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: I’m a Mrs! « Life. Love. Law.

  2. Pingback: Wedding Recaps: Diamonds & Gold « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

