It’s Like Rain on your Wedding Day…

Standard

I’ve been told over and over again that it doesn’t pay to check the 10 -day forecast before your wedding. 1) They’re not usually that accurate that far out in advance. 2) There’s nothing you can do about it. I mean, the weather is what it is…if it’s raining, we’re just going to have to deal, right?

In many ways, yes. That’s exactly what will have to happen. But since we’ve been planning this shindig since February 2011, and a good portion of the day will hopefully be happening outside, there was no way that I would not be checking that forecast. Obsessively. Every day. Possibly more.

Thursday was the first time that a forecast for Saturday was posted, and the results were…less than optimal:

See those storm clouds on July 7?

Yeah, not exactly what I wanted to see. I don’t so much mind the chance of rain at night, because our reception is entirely indoors. But from about noon to 6, we’ll be taking pictures, having an outdoor ceremony, and taking more pictures. I’d like the weather to cooperate for at least that amount of time! I’d be happy even with noon to 4 – first round of pictures, the ceremony and receiving line. We could find an indoor alternative for the second round of pictures.

I just checked the forecast again, and I have another update. This one makes me a much happier camper!

So still showers at night, but like I already said, that wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world. I like this daytime forecast much better! Plus, they say a little rain on your wedding day is good luck (or ironic, if you’re Alanis Morissette).

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

