The Big Invite Reveal!

Standard

We’ve received a good number of responses from our guests, so now it’s finally time for the moment I’ve been waiting for months to blog – our invites!! I spent so much time and put so much work into these babies that I’m super excited to share them with you. I know I’ve said this a million times before, but they really were the most intense DIY project we’ve undertaken (so far, probably at all) for our wedding. I couldn’t be prouder of them.

I’ll take you through the step-by-step of what our guests will see when they open their invitations. And this is really what guests will see…because this invite isn’t a sample, it’s actually one of the ones that was returned to us because of an incorrect address. (Don’t worry, I re-addressed it and sent it off to its proper owner after taking the pics!)

The envelope – of course, most won’t arrive with that ugly “return to sender” sticker

See that little number in the bottom corner? My not-so-sneaky way of keeping track of everyone!

Personalized each inner envelope with the first names of the guests

The back of the inner envelope, ready to be opened

Seriously, guys…it’s not THAT hard to nicely remove the lace (all this one took was one little tear!)

Now on to the good stuff! The inside of the invitation is where my months of manual labor can actually be seen. As I mentioned in a previous post, each main insert was colored by hand. Additionally, I designed and printed all of the Directions/Accommodations cards, RSVP cards and Website cards. The inserts may not all match or be the most fancy things ever, but it was much cheaper than getting them professionally designed, and they get the job done. Guests have already commented that the information on them was helpful. I was a busy girl over the past year!

The inside of the invitation, which is much prettier without all of the redactions 😉

Although this was definitely a DIY project, I couldn’t have created these without some awesome vendors. I downloaded (/purchased) the flower template for the main insert from Do-It-Yourself-Invitations.com. The green envelope and the outer ivory envelope both came from Cards and Pockets – the inner envelope is the Signature Pocketfold in Medina Green, and the outer envelope is the A7 Mailing Envelope in Cream. For the Directions/Accommodations card, I simply used Microsoft Word and Google Maps, printed on cardstock and trimmed to size. For the website cards, I used Avery Business Cards and Microsoft word – super easy!

Like I said earlier, we’ve already gotten a few compliments on our invites, which makes me feel super good because I spent so much time on each and every one of them. I know that at the end of the day most of them will get thrown out, but I’m glad that we chose to spend time on this project instead of money. I’m very proud of our DIY invites!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Cure for DIY Withdrawal « Life. Love. Law.

  2. Pingback: Wedding Recaps: Completed DIY Projects! « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

