Make Me Over – Round 1!

Standard

I haven’t written about the wedding on here too much lately, but the truth is that we’re just over 2 months away now! Time has been flying super fast these last few months, but I have a feeling it’s about to get faster.

Today is my last day of classes for the semester (scary), and my first final is next Monday (scarier!). After finals are over, I’ll immediately start the two-week long process of trying to “write-on” to one of the school’s 3 Law Journals…which entails writing a few personal statements, Bluebook exercises and a 10 page “Note” based on about 100 pages of cases that we’ll be provided. All of that gets graded, and I’ll subsequently (hopefully!) offered a position on one of those 3 journals based on my performance. And during that time, I’ll also be starting my summer clinical position – working at least 40 hours a week. In short, once finals and the write-on are finished, we’ll be just over 1 month away from the wedding. And since all of those school-related things are so time consuming, that means we’ll have one month before the wedding to really pull everything together before the big day actually happens. Commence freakout mode…NOW.

Needless to say, I haven’t been doing too many wedding things lately. We’re planning on mailing invites very soon, but I still have a few things to finish up with those. The week between finals and my job beginning (aka, week 1 of the write-on) will be my last full week at home before the wedding to meet with vendors. At least my shower and bachelorette party will be that week too…something fun to take my mind off of the stress. But I did manage to do one fun wedding-related thing last week, and that’s what today’s post is about. I had my first makeup trial!

As you know by now, I’m not a very makeup savvy girl. I rarely wear a full face of makeup, and even then it’s usually one of two looks that I’ve pretty much “mastered” by now that look decent on me in person and in pictures. Because of this, I figured that I would need someone else to at least help me with my makeup for the wedding. I don’t want to look boring, after all.

My friend Jill is a Mary Kay Consultant, so she was a natural choice for the job. She’s offered to make the trek up to our small town the day of the wedding and not only do my makeup, but all of my bridesmaids and both of the moms as well! What a trooper. 🙂 For my first makeup trial, Jill told me that a fun way to compare two looks would be to give me two makeovers at once: one half of my face one way, the other half another way. So we did! For the first half, we chose a look with a dramatic “smoky” eye, but with a more subdued lip color. For the second look, we chose a more subdued eye, but with a dramatic and fun lip color.

The looks didn’t translate to the camera too well with the flourescent lighting in the church basement where the Mary Kay event was held, but here are the photos anyway:

Both looks at once: here, the left side of my face (my right, your left) is the look with the smoky eye, where the look on the right is the look with the more dramatic lip. Unfortunately, that color got washed out a lot by the lights…it looked a lot cooler in person!

Look 1: Smoky eye, pink lips (and an awful blush that makes me look drunk)

Look 2: Natural eye, coral lips (apparently more is needed to make that awesome lip color really show up, though!)

Overall, I liked Look 2 on me a lot better in person, and I also like it better in the pictures, as long as we can find a way to make that awesome lip color show up in pictures. Seriously, it’s called “coral” but as a little bit of orangey-gold tones in it which I think will look awesome next to my orange flowers. I never thought such a color would work well with my skin tone, but it really does! I chose Look 2 over Look 1 because it was more naturally pretty – with Look 1 I felt very glamorous, but I also felt like I was wearing a lot of makeup. Since our wedding is going to be pretty laid back and natural, I thought too much makeup would be a little out of place. Especially since I don’t wear much on a day-to-day basis.

So that’s it! What do you think? (Also, if you’re ever in need of Mary Kay products, be sure to check out Jill’s website. She’s a super cool person and worthy of your business, I promise.)

3 responses »

  1. I like the second look too! I tend to like the more natural look and that’s what I had at my own wedding. Good you had a trial already. My trial happened about four days before the actual wedding. I wasn’t too worried though. The 7th July will be here before you know it!

  2. Pingback: Chop, Chop! « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

