Sunny with a High of 75…in March

Standard

Spring is definitely coming, here in Madison. Yesterday it was right around 80 degrees, and it’s supposed to be at least in the 60’s for the next week or so. Needless to say, this is quite unseasonable for March in Wisconsin. While it makes me a little bit nervous for just how crazy the weather is going to be this summer, I have to admit that the warm weather and sunshine has helped my mood quite a bit this week.

The chairs aren’t out yet, but it sure feels like summer. (Source)

I told you in my last post that I’ve been feeling a little remiss lately. I think a lot of it has to do with some big changes that are happening (or about to happen) in my life. Change is scary, and not feeling completely prepared for them is even scarier. It’s weird to think that in 4 months I’ll be married, but it’s even weirder to think that I still might not get to see my new husband every day once we finally get hitched. It’s something that I’ve come to terms with, but that doesn’t make it easy. The problem is that I let it get me down, and I’ve found that a bad mood is the surest way to ensure that you’ll have a bad day (or week).

To try to pull myself out of this slump in the past few weeks, I’ve been attempting to focus my life on things that are good for me and make me happy, as opposed to focusing on things that I feel like should make me happy, or focusing on things that I want but can’t have for whatever reason. So since I’m currently in the process of changing, you can bet that this blog is (still) in the process of changing too. Here’s a little bit of what you can expect to see (and not see) from here on out:

I’m focusing on feeling comfortable in my own skin, no matter if I’m 100% happy with my current size, weight or appearance. Because let’s be real…I’m never going to be 100% happy with those things. Instead of beating myself up if I miss a day (or a week…oops…) at the gym, I’ve been making little changes that help me feel beautiful every day.  I’m not a makeup person…when I go “all out,” I wear less than most girls do on a day-to-day basis. Honestly, I doubt I’ll ever become a makeup person, because I just find it to be too cumbersome for every day. But lately I’ve been doing things like paying attention to my skin, whitening my teeth, painting my nails.Sure, these are all superficial things, but they help me realize that the body that God’s given me is beautiful. I just have to put a little effort into making it the best it can be.

One big problem with this, though, is that I have no idea what products are best for me. My solution was to subscribe to Birchbox – a fun little service where they send you a package of samples of premium beauty products each month to try. I figured this would be a decent way to see what I like and what I don’t. After all, each month is only $10 (less than Netflix!) and it’s probably about what I would spend on one beauty item at the store each month anyway. So I plan to take some time each month to review the products in the Birchbox from the perspective of someone who knows very little about beauty.

I’m also putting more time and effort into expanding my horizons…when it comes to cooking. I really love food, and I really love making food for myself and friends. Lately, I’ve been trying new recipes and taking on some more challenging techniques (what up, hollandaise sauce!) as a way to unwind at the end of a particularly stressful day of law school. I’ve added some awesome new recipes to my repertoire lately, and I’m excited to start actually sharing some of my “looks-difficult-but-really-isn’t” recipes on the blog for anyone who might be interested.

Finally, I took a big step and deleted things from my life that were only adding to my stress and negative feelings. And when I say “deleted,” I mean literally. This may come as a shock to some of you who have been following me from the beginning, but I finally deleted all of the wedding blogs from my Google reader. Including Weddingbee, and all of those other fantastic websites that provided me with so much inspiration early (and not so early) on in our planning process. I finally came to the realization that at this point, our wedding doesn’t need more “inspiration.” It also doesn’t need more “details.” What it needs is to be a special day with family and friends – one that we’ll never forget because of the memories, which have absolutely nothing to do with the centerpieces or programs or invitations. I’m happy that I found those blogs initially and that I took the time to put together what I hope will be an awesome DIY wedding on a budget. I still plan to share a few more of our projects that I haven’t revealed yet (mostly our invitations) in the future. But as of now I’m ready to just have the party and be married already…and as such there probably won’t be a whole lot of wedding posts from here on out.

All of this, of course, in addition to general ramblings about life updates, my feelings, the stress of law school and (hopefully) a furbaby in the near future. I guess my goals is for this to become much more of a place where you come to learn “what’s going on in Kim’s life this week?” as opposed to whatever it was in the past. I hope you still stick around and read what I have to say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

