.

Standard

I’ve been kind of down lately. In a funk…out of it…I’m not really sure exactly what, or exactly why.

I’m having a really hard time getting into my classes this semester. I don’t necessarily hate any of them, but I definitely don’t love any of them. The same goes for the professors. Where last semester I had mostly great professors that made even the boring subject matters tolerable, this semester I’m pretty ambivalent about them all. Given that they’re all just general classes that we’re required to take, I suppose that’s ok. From here on out I’ll mostly get to choose my own classes, and between that and my clinical I know that I’ll be busy with interesting and important work. But right now, I’m mostly just frustrated with school.

For instance, today we spent almost the entirety of one of my classes talking about divorce. Specifically, pre-nuptial agreements and division of assets in the event of a divorce. I guess given that the class is all about Property Law, that makes sense. I also know that pre-nups and divorce are topics that should be taken very seriously before entering into marriage – and I assure you that Shaun and I have talked and discussed these things at length already. It’s just tough to work through these cases and problemsĀ knowing that my own wedding and marriage are a mere 4 months away. Suddenly, I’m apprehensive about these things that are supposed to be so exciting. The apprehension passes pretty quickly, so it’s not like I’m getting cold feet…it’s just not fun while it lasts.

I feel like I’m in limbo right now…just waiting for something to happen. Waiting for everything that I know is coming up soon. The move to the new apartment. All of our fun events this summer. The wedding. My new job. It all just seems too far away to be true. Like I’m making the preparations and getting everything ready, but that it’s not quite real yet. I hope it starts feeling real soon.

So this post was basically a lot of words saying nothing at all, but at least it’s something. I know I haven’t posted in a while…and I’m hoping that this kind of explains why. Hopefully I’ll be able to get back into a regular routine soon.

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

