Hunting…for Apartments!

Standard

One non-wedding project that’s been occupying a lot of my time lately (other than school, of course) is apartment hunting. Now, if you’re not familiar with the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, let me let you in on a few secrets. 1) If you want the best selection of apartments, you have to start looking in October…for a lease that starts the following August. Seriously. 2) It’s nearly impossible to find anything that is affordable and allows dogs. 3) The closer you are to campus, the more ridiculously priced the disgusting college apartments get. 4) Almost all campus apartments use a “city-wide” moving day, where everyone moves out of their old apartment on August 14th and moves into their new apartment on August 15th. I still shudder just thinking about it. All of these things combine do not make for an easy apartment hunting experience.

Luckily, I’ve been at this before. I’ve rented in Madison for the past 4 years (my first year I lived in the dorms), so I’ve been around the block a time or two when it comes to dealing with the biggest rental companies. This time has been a little trickier, though, given our uncertain living situation next year. We made a short list of wants and needs for an apartment in Madison, which included:

Needs: 

Less than $800/month

Safe (somewhere I wouldn’t mind living by myself)

Dog friendly

Wants: 

Parking included

Laundry in the unit

Not too far of a drive to campus or on campus

Needless to say, our short list isn’t really so short. But I persistently kept up with my searching. I sent an email whenever something looked promising, and scheduled a few showings with apartments that I liked after I got a response from the landlord. Now, I don’t want to jinx this by saying anything too soon…but we submitted our rental applications for a place this weekend! We should be hearing back sometime this week, and hopefully after that all we’ll have to do is sign the lease and pay our security deposit. Then we/I will be moving in on June 1!

Oh…and the best part? It’s a brand new building. As in, the place we’d be living in isn’t even finished being built yet. Double prizes? I think so.

One of the buildings that’s already there

Oh, and did I mention there’s a pool? Because there is.

And the new building, where we’ll hopefully be living 🙂

This apartment complex has all of our “needs” and all of our “wants” from our list, plus a few awesome extras! We’ll likely be getting an efficiency (otherwise this would be way out of our price range), but I think that’s ok for a “first home”…and it will especially be fine if I’m there by myself. It’s also only a short drive (10 miles, or about 20 minutes with traffic) to the law school. The only downfall is that in addition to rent and utilities, we’ll have to pay for an extra parking spot downtown for me to park for class. Other than that, this place is perfect!

So we’re crossing our fingers and praying that all of the initial paperwork gets approved quickly, and we can check this big item off of our to-do list. I’ll keep you posted!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

