23!

Standard

Today is the best day of the year: Facebook notification day! Otherwise known as my birthday. 🙂

47 new notifications by 11:00 am. Not too shabby.

Now, I could spend this post recapping all of the great things that happened when I was 22 (graduation from college and starting law school, to name a few), but since my birthday is in January, I basically already wrote that post when I talked about transitioning from 2011 to 2012. Suffice it to say that age 22 was good to me.

When Shaun turned 25 a few months ago, I wrote him a nice little post about how it was his last birthday as a single man…and now the same is true for me! Except the man part, of course. With every major holiday that comes and goes as we get closer to the wedding, I get more excited. Last unmarried Thanksgiving. Last unmarried Christmas. Last unmarried New Year. Last unmarried birthday! Check, check, check. These all feel like major milestones on the road to our wedding, and somehow that makes these special occasions even more special.

This isn’t my cake. My cake will be even better. (Image source)

Other than being excited about the fact that it’s my birthday (and the plethora of Facebook notifications that are making me feel popular), today isn’t so different than any other day. I got up this morning, and I talked to both my mom and Shaun on the phone when they called to wish me a happy birthday. To celebrate tonight, my roommates making dinner (and in following tradition, a cake that I’m sure will be fabulous). Then we’re going to trivia and then to the bars in Madison for a little while afterwards. The only thing missing from this picture is Shaun…his being here would make today absolutely perfect.

Everywhere I look today, I am reminded how much I am loved and what wonderful and amazing friends and family I have. So I want to take a second to thank everyone for making my birthday so special – I love you all! Another year older, another year wiser…another milestone closer to married. I have a feeling 23 is going to be even better than 22!

Leave a Reply

