Trinkets of Thanks: Favors

Standard

One of the biggest budget savers that we decided on right away was cutting out favors for our guests. It wasn’t an easy decision to make…after all people seem to love favors at weddings and often feel cheated when they don’t receive one (or so I’ve been told). And I think that if the bride and groom can afford them, favors are a nice way to thank everyone at the wedding for sharing in your special day with you. However, we ruled out favors early on because we couldn’t decide on anything that would be budget friendly and also appropriate for our venue. But we never quite let go of the idea.

You see, the most popular type of favors – food favors – were completely ruled out by our choice of venue. What do I mean by this? Well, in true small town USA “never leave hungry” fashion, our dinner will be family-style. If you’re not familiar with the term, that’s where they bring serving trays of each item to your table and you can keep refilling your plate until you’re full. Like a buffet that comes to you! In addition to the family-style dinner, there are two types of desserts on the table: an assorted dessert tray and kneecaps, a sort of fried donut coated in powdered sugar and topped with whipped cream. Aka, heaven. They are to die for. In addition to all of that, we’re having cake. So, needless to say at this point, our guests will not be going hungry. Food favors were out.

With a guest list pushing 325, it’s especially important that any hypothetical favors be affordable and be something people will actually want to take…because I don’t want to go home with 250 coasters that say “Kim and Shaun” on them. Even with all of these criteria in mind, I could never quite shake the feeling that we had to do something for our guests to thank them for sharing our wedding day with us. And then one day, we finally found the perfect idea!

So what did we come up with?

Minty MOO cards!

Of course, I had heard of MOO cards many, many times before I purchased them for ourselves. I think it’s about near impossible to regularly read Weddingbee and not know about these little guys. But I was never inclined to purchase MOO cards of our own, because they were just a little too pricey and I didn’t have a clear idea in mind for a wedding project that would justify their cost. Then one day over break, I saw that Good Morning America viewers could get them for a discounted rate. Naturally, I put my brain into idea-overdrive and I jumped at the opportunity! (I love a good sale.)

First, here’s a look at the pretty little MOO cards just out of the box:

And now a look at our personalized message on the back:

(Side note: Can we take a moment to squee about the shared last name?!? So excited!!!)

Everybody raves about these cards, and I think I’m going to have to be added to their ranks. They are just adorable and I love the size! They’re high quality and the pictures are super clear. Plus, I loved that you can put as many different photos as you want in each pack. The only thing I don’t love about them is the price. I guess that’s the tradeoff for superior quality, but I was glad we got the discounted price from GMA.

We had talked about using Andes candies as a sort of mini-favor for our guests because their green foil wrappers match our color scheme. We figured we’d just scatter them on the tables so that people could take them if they wanted to, but leave them if they didn’t. They’re so little that we wouldn’t mind taking them home with us! Plus, they’re delicious. And I love mint.

Well, our MOO cards upped the ante on this idea. Because they match the Andes mints perfectly, we can either attach a candy to each card and scatter them on the table, or just scatter both the cards and the mints on the table for people to take if they want.

If we attach the cards, it might look something like this.

So now our last dilemma is which of the above options to choose. To attach mints to the MOO cards, or to leave separate? My mother thinks that attaching the mints to the cards would look weird, and that we should just scatter them both without attaching them. I’m worried that people won’t take the cards if they’re not attached to the mints. And if we choose to attach them, do we glue them to the green side, the picture side, or alternate? What do you think?

One response »

Leave a Reply

