…Hello, 2012!

Standard

Happy New Year, friends! I hope that you all had a wonderful New Year’s celebration and rang in the new year right. I had a great evening with my sister and cousin (Maid of Honor A and Bridesmaid S) – drinking some champagne and RumChata (seriously…have you tried that stuff???), watching movies and playing board games. Maybe not a typical 22-year-old’s New Year’s Eve, but we had a blast!

And we’ve been pretty productive today in my household! On the wedding front, we went shopping for Mom’s Mother of the Bride dress in Green Bay today. All in all, it was a successful trip…but that’s another post entirely. 🙂 (Just kidding, I’m not supposed to reveal anything about any of our dresses on the blog.)

Now I’m watching the Rose Parade on tv, not-so-patiently waiting for the Badger Band to march by so I can squeal and cry and wish I was there again. I must admit, I’m more than a little jealous that my roommates are in Pasadena at this very moment, getting ready for the parade and the game! They don’t call the Rose Bowl the “Granddaddy of them All” for nothing. But I keep telling myself that I was lucky enough to go once…and that’s helping a little. It will definitely be weird watching my friends on TV during the game tonight, though. I just hope they show the band.

So that was quite the ramble…not exactly what I meant for this post to be. What I actually meant to write about was something very much associated with the new year: resolutions.

Usually I don’t make too many resolutions, because I’m not awesome at keeping them. This year, though, there are a few things that I’ve challenged myself to keep in mind:

1. Communicate openly and honestly. Whether it’s on the blog or face-to-face, something that I need to work on is being more honest about the way I’m feeling in any given situation. And that includes being honest with myself. This year, I’m going to try harder to listen to myself to know when things are getting out of control. This means learning to say “no” when I’ve taken on too much, and learning to not say “it’s fine” when I’m really upset with someone.

2. Let the little things go. I tend to try to micro-manage every teeny tiny aspect of my life, and it gets exhausting. Instead of worrying, this year I’m going to try my hardest to recognize which battles are better left unfought, as opposed to when it’s actually worth it. This is going to be especially true with wedding planning, but also with school, work and other aspects of my life as well.

3. Be the best “you” you can be. This is something that I often forget – whether it’s in the context of school, fitness, wedding planning…or whatever. Setting impossible standards isn’t physically or emotionally healthy, nor is it safe. Instead of comparing myself to this person or that person, I need to remember to do my best to get better every day. By nobody’s standards but my own.

And, of course, I want to lose about 20 pounds before the wedding.

Did you make any New Year’s resolutions this year? Have you, like me, had trouble sticking to them in the past? Or did you succeed?

Leave a Reply

