Catching Up

Standard

Hi all! So, yes, it’s been a little while since my last post. But a lot has happened in the last few weeks and I’m excited to update you all about the great things that have been going on here.

First thing’s first, I successfully completed my first semester of law school last Friday! So much has happened between then and now that it’s hard to believe that it was less than a week ago. But I made it through all four of my final exams and am now patiently (ahem…yeah right…) waiting for our grades to come in. Which I’m told won’t happen until late January. The suspense!

I must say, though, that one of my main driving forces that kept me going at the end of finals was some great news – I have a job for the summer! Back in the post about rejection I mentioned that I didn’t even get an interview for one of the clinical programs through school this summer. What I didn’t say then (maybe for fear of jinxing it) is that I actually applied to two clinical programs. Last Wednesday, I found out that I got accepted to work in the Remington Center’s LAIP project! I’m sure I’ll end up talking about my work quite a bit when I get into it this summer, but for now you can find out more about LAIP here if you’re interested. 🙂

Then, of course, came the holidays. I really feel like they snuck up on me this year because I was busy studying for finals until the 23rd. But I got plenty of chance to celebrate starting the night of the 23rd with Shaun’s family, and all day Christmas Eve and all day Christmas day between our two families! And that’s not including tree hopping with his family this week.

With my future in-laws on Christmas Eve!

And although spending time with family is the best part of the holiday season, I also received many lovely gifts from my friends and family. Here are just a few of them (with some of the others being down in Madison right now…)

Ornaments from Shaun – we started a new tradition to exchange ornaments every year! (He also got me the fancy new camera that these pictures were taken with. Thanks honey!)

Slippers and Mad Men from my sister (Maid of Honor A)

Hand towels (including a new monogram!), some bling and a fancy new suit from my parents.

Some Christmas decorations and a photo album from my future parents-in-law.

And a gorgeous quilt from my future sister-in-law (Bridesmaid R)!

All in all, it was a wonderful (if hectic) holiday season. I’m excited to spend New Year’s Eve partying with my sister and my cousin (Bridesmaid S) and do a lot of wedding planning and relaxing over the next few weeks before classes start again. As always, I’ll keep you updated.

How was your holiday weekend? Did you spend it with family or friends? Start any new traditions? Any favorite gifts? Feel free to share in the comments!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

