Keep it simple, stupid.

Standard

Well, the good news is that I survived my exam yesterday. It wasn’t fun…but it wasn’t awful. That’s a good thing, considering I have 3 more in the next 9 days. The problem with that is that I now have zero motivation to start studying for my next exam. Which I must start doing right after I write this post. Yay for procrastination.

Speaking of zero motivation, there are a couple of wedding projects that I really, really don’t want to work on. I’m not sure exactly why, but I have a couple hunches. It could be that I simply don’t care. Or it could be that I’m realizing how kind of pointless it is to pour your heart and soul (and bank account) into the “details” that don’t really even mean much after the wedding day. Or, as much as I hate to admit it, it could be because I know that if I fall in love with something “unique” or “beautiful” that we’re just not going to be able to afford it. Not that I should want to spend that much money on a relatively trivial detail anyway. Sigh.

Yep…there’s a reason I hate on centerpieces so much whenever I’m talking about the unimportant parts of a wedding.

The other day I read a blog post where the bride went on and on about how no one wants their wedding to be compared to someone else’s. Like the absolute last thing you want to hear on your wedding day is “Oh, your centerpieces look just like so-and-so’s did!” Now…correct me if I’m wrong, but the last thing I personally want to hear on my wedding day is, “Sorry, honey, I just really don’t want to marry you anymore.” Or any sentence containing the words “dead” or “accident.” That about covers the spectrum of the worst things you can hear on your wedding day. Centerpiece drama need not apply.

I don’t really care about centerpieces. I want them to look nice and kind of match everything else we’re trying to do that day – i.e., I want to incorporate lace and our orange lilies. I also don’t want to spend a lot of money. So when I found these images of Miss Fox’s cocktail table centerpieces on Weddingbee, I was really in love.

Images via Miss Fox on Weddingbee

They’re cute. They’re simple. They’re elegant without going overboard. I think we’re going to probably have a couple different centerpieces, but I really like these mini fishbowls. We could pair them with a taller centerpiece for some tables, use them on their own for others. They kind of look like something that’s been “done” before…but at the end of the day, hasn’t everything been done before?

I’m having a hard time feeling excited about centerpieces, guys. This caught my attention primarily because I thought, “hey, we could replicate that for not a lot of money.” And because it would be pretty easy to manipulate this basic idea with the flowers, colors and other details that we want. What do you think? Do you like them? Enough for me to make a mock-up of our own and post it on here?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

3 responses »

  1. Went to drew’s cousins wedding this summer and they did something similar with gerber daisy’s. Totally beautiful. Also if you need man power for a diy project let mge know Id be willing to lend a hand.

    • Thanks Amanda! I talked to my mom after writing this post and I think we are going to use this concept along with one other one and alternate the 2 centerpieces on our tables. I think it’s a simple idea, but it’s popular for a reason!

  2. Pingback: Clearance Store Centerpieces « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

