A Makeover

Standard

Hello and welcome back to all of you regular readers! If you’ve been here before, you may notice that the blog looks a little different than the last time you were here. Well, it’s gotten a makeover, and this post is going to explain why.

Since I created this blog back in February, I’ve been blogging almost exclusively about the wedding. The old title of the blog was even “Wedding in the 920,” implying (correctly) that it was a blog solely about our upcoming nuptials. Quite frankly, I’m getting a little tired of that. While I do love blogging about the wedding and intend to continue doing so, there are just some negative consequences of only blogging about the wedding all the time.

First of all, I found myself placing way too much emphasis on the material aspects of the wedding – the aspects that don’t matter. Yes, the DIY projects are fun. Yes, I still want to be a Weddingbee blogger (although my first application got rejected…another post on that later this week). But at the end of the day, the centerpieces that we have at our reception don’t matter. Whether or not the font on our invitations matches the font on our programs doesn’t matter. The wedding is about celebrating our marriage, the beginning of our new life together. Everything else is secondary.

On a related note, while I do really love reading wedding blogs to get ideas for favors, centerpieces, flowers and whatnot…it’s exhausting. It’s virtually impossible to look at the blogs and plan your own wedding without 1) feeling a little inadequate (especially if you’re a little broke) and 2) feeling like your own wedding needs all of those details to be a success. As such, I found myself doubting whether or not I had made the right choices in cutting several “standard” items from our big day – save the dates, seating charts, and traditional favors, to name a few. Newsflash (to myself): the only thing a wedding needs is two people who want to get married and an officiant to make it legal. That’s seriously it.

A wedding is a party, not a performance. (Source)

Finally, in trying to tailor my posts to what I thought would make a good Weddingbee blogger application, I kind of got away from what I really wanted this blog (and, for that matter, our wedding) to be about in the first place – Shaun and me. Our relationship. Us. That’s it. Sure, the wedding details are nice and they’re fun to write about. But they’re not us. They don’t define us. No matter what happens, our wedding will be beautiful. And even if it’s not, we will be married. And that’s enough to make it beautiful even if everything else falls apart.

At the end of the day, I don’t want to be this girl. (Source)

So what did I decide to do about all of that? Well, all of my favorite chick flicks have taught me that when you don’t like the way things are going – get a makeover and change the way everyone perceives you. And, for that matter, change the way you perceive yourself too.

From now on, I’ll still be writing about wedding planning from time to time. Maybe even more than time to time. We’ll see about that. I’ve still got a lot of details and projects to do before the big day, and I’m excited to share them with you because I think they really do represent Shaun and I as a couple and will make excellent additions to our wedding day. But the blog is going to function more as a personal space to reflect, share other projects that I’m working on (like baking! I love baking!), and share my entire self…not just the wedding part.

Given where I’m at in life, I’ve decided to rename this new approach “Life. Love. Law.” Just like it sounds, it will be about those three topics – 1) life in general, 2) the love that I share with Shaun and my family and my friends, and 3) my journey through law school towards becoming a lawyer. I hope you still like it and still decide to read.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Reflection on Rejection « Life. Love. Law.

  2. Pingback: Who Am I? « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

