Falling off the wagon (and getting back on again)

Standard

Speaking of bad habits, I’ve already revealed my biggest ones to you in previous posts – my tendencies to overeat and under exercise. Last time we chatted on this topic, I was really excited by the progress that I had made with Weight Watchers and was trying to incorporate more exercise into my daily/weekly regimen.

Well, if the title of this post doesn’t give it away, I don’t know what will. I fell off the weight-loss wagon.

(Source: Diary of a Mad Fat Woman – love this blogger! Check her out!)

This is not to say that I completely crashed and burned. I’m still about 10 pounds lighter than I was at the end of the summer when I started Weight Watchers…but I also gained back everything that I lost after those initial 10. It’s hard to say exactly where it all went wrong.

As much as I loved Weight Watchers, it just got to be too expensive for this broke law student, so I cancelled my account. Shortly after, some of my initial bad eating habits returned. Mainly portions that were too large and excessive snacking. Couple that with colder weather rolling in (less walking, more bus riding) and a lack of a regular exercise schedule, and you’ve got a recipe for disaster. I’m feeling the effects.

Obviously, it’s easy to come up with excuses, but the bottom line is that I know this is not going to be easy. But I do still have 7 months (!) until the big day. I’m now making a conscious effort to buy only healthy foods when I go grocery shopping – if it’s not in the house, I can’t eat it. It’s as simple as that. I’m slowly replacing my bad beverages (diet soda, excessive coffee) with good ones (water and tea). Plus, trying on my dress last week was a great motivator – it assured me that I will look great even if I don’t lose another pound, but I know I can look even better with a little work on specific areas and a little pound/inch-shedding overall.

I don’t need to do anything drastic, but I need to make little changes and stick to them. With a strapless dress, my biggest areas of concern are my arms and back. Luckily I’ve got a little trick up my sleeve that should help me out (if actually start incorporating it into my daily routine).

The Wedding Workout from Women’s Health. (Image Source)

I love this DVD, especially the Arms section and the Abs section. Since they’re only about 11 minutes long each, I can get a great strength workout in under 20 minutes. Like I said before, I just need to work on making this a consistent part of my routine to really see results. And if all else fails, I’ve got Jillian.

30 Day Shred by Jillian Michaels (Image Source)

I loved watching the Biggest Loser with my roommates when I lived in the dorms, so when I saw Jillian’s DVD on sale on Amazon and saw that it had great reviews, I bought it. Honestly…I haven’t tried it yet. And I’ve owned it for months. I’m just a little intimidated, to be honest. But I think if I can get into a regular routine with the Wedding Workout this winter, and start hitting the gym for some cardio over winter break (let’s be real…I’m not going to start a new routine with finals just around the corner…) then eventually I’ll be able to upgrade to this as my go-to DVD. In the past I’ve been great at making these plans and then not sticking to them…but this is crunch time! I’ve got a wedding to look good for!

If at first you don’t succeed, try try again! Right? I’m hoping so, anyway. Have you ever fallen off of the metaphorical wagon? Did you get back on? And if so, how did you keep yourself from falling back into your old bad habits?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

Leave a Reply

