Plenty to be thankful for

Standard

It’s officially the day after Thanksgiving (also known as Black Friday), so I’m finally allowed to break out my Christmas music! Seriously, you guys. I love Christmas…and it takes all of the willpower I have to keep from listening to Christmas music early. But for the sake of those I love who do not share my love of Christmas music…I wait. But today is the day!

I must admit that yesterday I cheated just a tiny bit and pulled out my “Holiday Inn” soundtrack. If you don’t know the movie (not to be confused with 2006’s “The Holiday,” starring Cameron Diaz and Kate Winslet…although that’s also a good one), I suggest you check it out immediately. Especially if you’re in the mood for old Hollywood, black and white goodness, Bing Crosby’s melted butter voice, Fred Astaire’s stellar dance moves and a pretty good plot for a Christmas movie. Little known fact: this is the movie that premiered “White Christmas,” and it was so popular that they made a second movie by that name! There you go, you learned something today.

(Source)

So now you’re probably wondering why I cheated and listened to some of the music from this classic yesterday. Well, aside from the fact that it’s fantastic and I just can’t resist it, the movie is about an inn that is only open on holidays – when Bing and his friends put on a big show related to the specific holiday being celebrated. Thinking back over the past year, the lyrics of the Thanksgiving song really resonated with me.

I’ve got plenty to be thankful for
I haven’t got a great big yacht to sail from shore to shore
Still I’ve got plenty to be thankful for

I’ve got plenty to be thankful for
No private car, no caviar, no carpet on my floor
Still I’ve got plenty to be thankful for

I’ve got eyes to see with
Ears to hear with
Arms to hug with
Lips to kiss with
Someone to adore

How could anybody ask for more?
Oh, I’ve got plenty to be thankful for

Sure it’s a little cutesy, but I love it! And it’s so true – while I may not have everything I want, I have more than enough. And despite the good amount of complaining that I tend to do on this blog, I really do know how lucky I am. I have more than most people have and more than enough to get by. In addition to the basics, I was lucky enough to get into law school this year, lucky enough to get a scholarship to help fund that endeavor, lucky enough to be able to go to the Rose Bowl last year. I’m lucky enough to be getting married to the love of my life in 7 and a half months, and I’m lucky enough that we’re in a financial position to have a beautiful and meaningful wedding.

But even those are material things. Most importantly of all, I have wonderful family and friends, and I have a fiance who loves me. I have people in my life that I can rely on no matter what. Really, when I stop and think about how much different my life could be right now, I’m extremely grateful for all that I have!

What are you thankful for this holiday? And are you as excited about Christmas as I am??

Leave a Reply

