Wine and love letters: we finally found a unity ceremony!

Standard

Good news, bloggy friends! We finally found a unity ceremony to incorporate into our wedding! You know you’re just as excited as I am. All of those exclamation points are totally justified.

In case you forgot, the last time I posted about ceremony traditions, we had decided that since a candle in the wind at our outdoor wedding (haha, Elton John joke) might not work out so well as far as symbolizing our love and the start of our new life together, and since I’m really not a fan of sand ceremonies, that we wouldn’t have a unity ceremony at all. Well, that all changed when I found out about the wine box and love letter ceremony from Miss Warbler!

(Source: Matt Steeves Photography)

Here’s how it works: before the ceremony, you each write a love letter to the other person telling them what you love about them, how you fell in love with them and why you are so excited to be getting married. During the wedding ceremony, you put the letters into a special box with a bottle of wine, and seal it. Then, if you’re ever having serious problems in your marriage (considering divorce, for example), you open the box together, drink the wine and read the letters to remind you why you decided to get married in the first place. If you’re lucky enough to not need to open the box earlier, then you open it together to celebrate on your 5th anniversary – and just replace the bottle of wine with a new one!

I think this ceremony is the perfect thing to include into our wedding ceremony for a couple of reasons. It’s short and sweet. It would introduce our friends and family to a wedding tradition they’ve never heard of (I hadn’t!). You may also recall that I love wine, and Shaun really likes it on special occasions. Plus, I love that this ceremony is practical in nature – hopefully we won’t need to break open the box and read the letters before our 5th anniversary. But you just never know what life is going to throw your way…and I think this is the perfect way to sit down and work through tough times together. To remind us why we’re getting married in the first place.

When it came to looking for a wine box, I headed to my go-to wedding shop…Amazon. Seriously, you guys. They have like…everything. And Amazon Prime? The best. I wanted something simple, but still nice looking. Something that we could display in our home and remind us of our wedding day, and somewhere where we wouldn’t forget about it if needed. Oh…and I didn’t want to spend an arm and a leg. Want to see what I found??

More awful phone pictures, I know.

Just an idea of how this little box might function as decor in our home. Here, on a bookshelf in my bedroom. (Personal photos)

Despite the awful photo quality…isn’t it pretty? I like that it’s rustic and homey and simple. It’s very…us. And I think it will make a great decor addition to our future home!

So now the only issue is that incorporating both the wine box ceremony and the ring warming might make our ceremony longer than we initially had hoped it would be…we were originally looking to keep it meaningful, but short and sweet. Shaun has never really been sold on the idea of a ring warming (and I think it might be tough to accomodate with our large guest list), but I’m hesitant to give it up. So I’m still torn on that issue. Stay tuned for the final decision.

Have you heard of the wine and love letter ceremony? Would you incorporate it into your wedding? And what do you think about the potential ceremony length problem – would you choose the wine, the ring warming, or both?

3 responses »

  1. We are doing three things. Ring warming (that will be at the beginning so by the time everyone passes them around, it will be in time for the ring exchange). We are doing a sand ceremony that includes my daughter, and at the end we will do the love letter ceremony. I got my box from Ebay!

    • That’s so sweet! I love that you’re incorporating your daughter into the sand ceremony – I’m sure she’ll love to look back at those pictures as she gets older. 🙂

  2. Pingback: I Think We Need a Bigger Box « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

