The party I’m not allowed to plan

Standard

I told you all yesterday that I’m a little more than a little jealous about the fabulous bachelor trip that Shaun’s best man has in the works. And yes, that statement is still true. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t have stuff to look forward to as well!

(Source)

While Shaun is going all out Vegas-style, I’m planning on my party being something a little more subdued. Or…I guess I should say that I’m hoping my party will be something a little more subdued – because planning is out of my hands! My bridesmaids are planning my bachelorette party, so what’s actually going to happen that day is a complete mystery to me. And truth be told, I’m not very good at waiting for surprises! (Just ask my mom…I’m awful at gift giving because I always want to tell the person what I got them. I just get too excited.)

My type-A personality won’t let me completely let this topic go just because the planning is out of my hands, however. I know that I’ll have fun no matter what they plan and I definitely am not going to be involved in planning…but I figured I’d whip up this little post to give the girls a hint as to what my ideal party would be like. 🙂

As far as beverages go, I have two loves: coffee and wine. Coffee is a little tough to build an entire event around but there are a lot of super fun wineries in Northeast Wisconsin. I think it would be a perfect way to spend my bachelorette party while staying close to home. Parallel 44 (home of the awesome Frozen Tundra wines) is literally a 5 minute drive away. That’s saying something where I come from!

So pretty. And this winery is only a few years old – impressive! (Source: Parallel 44 Winery)

Algoma, the town where I purchased my dress, is just a short 20-ish minute drive north of my hometown. They are also home to an awesome winery – Von Stiehl. I absolutely love Von Stiehl wine, especially Naughty Girl, a wine and blackberry brandy combo that the winery released right about the time I turned 21. The rest of their stuff is really yummy too, so this would also be a fun place to tour!

Naughty Girl! Seems fitting for a bachelorette outing, dontcha think? (Source: Von Stiehl Winery)

And finally, if you keep heading just a little more north from Algoma, you find yourself in one of Wisconsin’s premier vacation destinations, Door County. Door County is famous for its quaint little towns with their B&B’s, wineries and other small-town-pretty-scenery touristy attractions. It’s been called the Cape Cod of the Midwest and is really pretty in the spring and summer. Honestly, we took the fact that Door County was so close for granted growing up – day trips there seemed like nothing back then! Because of that, and because I haven’t really had a proper Door County trip since I worked there the summer after my freshman year of college (painting gas meters was ultra-glamorous, let me tell you…) As such, I think it would be a lot of fun to visit Door County for the day for a more relaxed and laid back bachelorette party. Of course, we’d be fighting the tourists because the season would be in full swing by the time we made the trip.

So many great wineries in Door County! (Source: Door County Wine Trail)

Finally, if winery tours don’t work out, there’s also this awesome wine and tapas bar in Green Bay called Win Premier that can be rented for special parties. Even if we didn’t rent it out, it’s an awesome little place to have a snack and enjoy some great wine, music and atmosphere. In fact, it’s one of my favorite places to go with Bridesmaid S when I’m at home! She introduced me to it, and so my obsession is totally her fault.

(Source: Wine Premier)

So obviously I’m pretty partial to wine. The girls definitely know this, and I’d be willing to guess that wine will make an appearance during the day. Whether the partay will continue into a bar-hopping crazy night (a la the limo picture above), I have no idea. And if the girls plan something that has no wine involved whatsoever, that will be completely fine!

Did you have a laid-back bachelorette party, or did you go all out with clubs and bars? Do you like wine and winery tours?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Wine and love letters: we finally found a unity ceremony! « Wedding in the 920

Leave a Reply

