Boys being boys

Standard

Speaking of trips, there’s another pretty big wedding-related trip currently in the planning stage – Shaun’s bachelor party!

I must assume that this is what all guys imagine when they hear the words “bachelor party” (Source)

You may recall that when I introduced you to the wedding party, the picture of Shaun with his best man Mike was a picture of them lounging by a pool in Cancun. The truth is, these two have taken a lot of typical “spring break” trips – and from the meager details that I’ve been able to glean since we’ve gotten back together, I can only assume that they were mostly straight out of an American Pie movie. Which is a little surprising, but as they say, boys will be boys.

So nearly as soon as we got engaged, Mike’s mind fast-tracked to planning the bachelor party. In true Mike-and-Shaun spirit, he wanted it to be one last giant hurrah. From the start I’ve given him a good deal of leeway in planning this thing…when I found out he was actually planning a trip as opposed to a night out at the bars at home, I told him the only requirements were that Shaun come back a) alive, b) disease free and c) still wanting to marry me. I also requested that the trip be a reasonable amount of time before the wedding, preferably a month or a little more. (I’ve seen the Hangover…can you blame me?)

And then Shaun requested a particular locale for his party of all parties. I guess I should have seen it coming, but I never really thought that my sweet, quiet small-town farm boy would really want to celebrate his end of life as a single man in…

(Source)

Vegas. I admit it…I’m a little more than a little jealous. It’s one of those “must go” places that I’ve never been to. I narrowly missed going to Las Vegas my freshman year of college with the band – while the rest of the band got to go, us “sweaters” (the equivalent of a red-shirt in football) were left behind because it would have been too expensive to fly us there. It was a little heartbreaking then, and it’s a little heartbreaking now that my fiance gets to go on an amazing trip for his bachelor party. Of course, their party is going to be on the small-ish side because of the costs involved in flying there from Wisconsin. That, and half of the groomsmen will be under 21 at the time of the wedding – definitely so at the time of the trip. So this trip is going to consist mostly of Shaun, Mike and their old spring break buddies.

Despite what it may sound like, I’ve come to peace with this. The bottom line is that I trust Shaun – be it Vegas, Panama Beach or the good old downtown Green Bay bar scene. My only bitterness comes down to jealousy, so that’s definitely not a good reason to resent the trip. I try to just put it out of my mind by thinking about how much fun my own shower and bachelorette party are going to be – even though those details are mostly being kept a secret from me.

Did you go all out for your bachelor/ette party? Or did you do something a little more subdued and close to home?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

  1. Pingback: The party I’m not allowed to plan « Wedding in the 920

Leave a Reply

