The honeymoon saga continues

Standard

Winter is finally coming to Wisconsin. We got our first snowfall a few days ago – thankfully, it didn’t accumulate (I don’t think I could handle that just yet!) But it’s definitely getting colder and daylight savings time last week means that it gets really dark really early now. I’m not a huge fan of winter, but once the snow comes and goes (for good), we’ll be in the season when we’ll be getting married! So that’s exciting t think about. 🙂

The cooler weather already has Shaun and me pining for a warm-weather getaway, which means one thing – planning our honeymoon! Since the last time that we discussed honeymoons, we’ve had a few changes of heart on the plans. First, Shaun decided that surprising me with our honeymoon destination was just a little too tall of an order to fill, and I guess I understand why. We want this to be our trip, so he doesn’t want to plan it all by himself. Then after that, we debated whether we really wanted to wait until winter break (6 months after the wedding) for our honeymoon. We started talking about Alaska in July which sounds absolutely fabulous, but new jobs for both of us quickly shut down that idea. So we’re back to winter break – which is definitely an ok thing, if you ask me. While it would be wonderful to jettison off right after our wedding, it will be nice to have something to look forward to after another hard semester of school and cold weather!

So where are we thinking of going, as of now? I’ll give you a hint…

(Source)

Disney! Disney World in Orlando, Florida, to be exact. When Shaun mentioned Disney as a honeymoon spot that he would absolutely love, it blew me away. I never thought that it was something he would be interested in! Good to know he can keep surprising me. 🙂 But Shaun mentioning Disney also reminded me of Mrs. Pony’s recent post about her Disneymoon – and I was immediately sold. It’s definitely not cheap, but also not more expensive than spending a week on some island in January. The plane tickets would be more affordable, and if we stayed at a Disney resort we’d get a lot of perks – ticket prices included in our package, shuttles between the parks, etc. Plus, we’d be able to spend a little more on treats for ourselves – a nicer hotel room, some fancy dinners, or a day at the spa, perhaps. Fabulous!

Also like Mrs. Pony, I am a huge Harry Potter fan and wouldn’t dare leave Orlando without visiting Universal and the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. Shaun loves Jurassic Park, so we’d also get great use out of the rest of the park. I’m not going to lie – I’m a bit too adventurous for a “sit on the beach for a week” honeymoon…and I think this could be the perfect option for us! We love rides and love being big kids…why not honeymoon in the happiest place on Earth?

What do you think? Would you ever consider honeymooning in Disney World, or is that too “kiddish” for you? Do you think you’d have fun on a honeymoon that was more tourist-y than relaxing?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Boys being boys « Wedding in the 920

  2. Pingback: Winter Wedding Projects « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

