Pretty purchases! Also, a big announcement :)

Standard

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been up to a lot. And by that I mean that, in addition to school and stuff, I’ve made several wedding related purchases that I’m really excited about…and I’m excited to share them with you! (If you’re looking for the big announcement, skip the pictures and head to the bottom of the post. 🙂 )

First up are some general crafting supplies that will feature a much more prominent role in future DIY posts. For now, here are some of the supplies I’m acquiring. I’m hoping that I can find fun projects after the wedding too, so I can keep putting these goodies to use.

Next is the amazingly pretty lace that I purchased on Etsy for my upcoming DIY projects! I purchased two different types, a 3 inch lace in ivory and a 3/4 inch lace in white.

Both laces together, to show the color difference

100 yards of 3/4 inch white lace

50 yards of 3 inch ivory lace

I’m so excited to use these laces to tie everything together…literally. (Spoiler alert!) The 3 inch lace will be used on our invitations and the 3/4 inch lace will be used on our programs…but with 15o yards total I’m sure that I’ll find other fabulous uses for these as well. (Maybe centerpieces?) I’m so excited about them! I have been searching for the perfect lace to use for my DIY projects for a while, and I think this is finally it. I immediately fell in love with the flower detail on the ivory lace…

Which was mostly due to the fact that it was ivory. I’m seriously concerned about how difficult it’s becoming to find things that are ivory and not white, you guys! But the pretty white lace mimicks the flower detail perfectly…

And it will be used in smaller projects, so I’m thinking the white will be fine. Or maybe I could tea stain it? The only thing that worries me about that is making it too dark. Decisions, decisions!

Last, but definitely not least, the purchase I’m most excited about. Seriously, you guys. You know how on cheesy shows like Say Yes to the Dress they talk about that moment when you finally feel like a bride? That moment that it actually hits you that this is what you’re going to look like on the day you get married? Well…that didn’t happen with my dress. Don’t get me wrong, I love my dress and I didn’t want to take it off. But I got that feeling I just described when I tried on a specific accessory that I just purchased…and funny enough it was a purchase I wasn’t entirely confident about when I made it. Behold, my BHLDN earrings!

Detailed photo, via BHLDN

And here’s what they looked like when I got them in person! (I promise I’m getting a new camera soon, so there won’t be any more of this low-quality camera phone junk.)

I purchased these earrings from BHLDN’s website during a sale that made them extremely affordable – instead of being upwards of $100, I got them for $40! For those of you who don’t know, BHLDN is Anthropologie’s wedding line that opened last spring. And apparently I got them just in the nick of time…I just discovered while writing this post that these earrings are no longer listed in the BHLDN jewelry store. Like I mentioned above, I wasn’t exactly sure that these earrings would fit my overall wedding day look when I purchased them, but I figured I would take a chance. I’m so glad I did! Even when I opened the package I was still hesitant, but all of that changed when I put them on. They’re big, glam and bridal. Finally, I got that feeling that made me feel like a real bride!

I can’t wait to see the entire finished product at my hair trial in a few months. Putting together the headband, my hairstyle, my new earrings and my favorite, simple pearl necklace…I finally can envision what I’ll look like on my wedding day. 🙂

And now for the big announcement…today marks exactly 8 months until the big day! That might not seem very exciting, but the 8 month mark is actually an important one. Why? It’s the first day that I can apply to be a Weddingbee blogger…and I’m fully taking advantage of that opportunity by sending in my application (round 1) today. Even those of you who aren’t familiar with Weddingbee have gotten a few glimpses of that community through this blog lately – especially during the recent my favorite shot posts! The blogger Bees blog about their wedding planning experience up until the day of their wedding, then also post recaps featuring their professional pictures after the big day. All of this is exactly what I had hoped to do when I started this little blog myself, so if I make it as a Bee, I’d be doing exactly what I do here…but with a hint of anonymity and with much more interaction…the entire HIVE would be reading!

I know that it’s extremely difficult to become a Bee. Remember how a few weeks ago I talked about facing your fears? Well, here goes another one – fear of rejection. I know that many Bees apply several times, and many applicants never make it at all…but I figure that you never know until you try. Wish me luck, my application is on its way!

One response »

  1. Pingback: A Reflection on Rejection « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

