A Rant: the Kardashian Katastrophe

Standard

Dear readers, I’m going to go off on a bit of a rant today. I apologize in advance if this isn’t your cup of tea…I assure you we’ll be back in regular business on Monday. But the celebrity wedding culture has gotten so ridiculously out of hand recently that I feel the need to comment. I can no longer keep silent.

Yes, this is a Kim Kardashian post. I tried to ignore the “American royal wedding,” as the diva herself liked to call her wedding to Kris Humphries. The wedding that cost $17.9 million dollars. In case you forgot, Kim wore 3 dresses on her wedding day. Her engagement ring is a ridiculous 16.5 carats and cost $2 million. Oh, and Kim just filed for divorce…after 72 days of marriage.

(Source)

(Source)

(Source)

Just to clarify – The Green Bay Packers’ winning streak is longer than the Kardashian/Humphries marriage. I think I read somewhere that it cost Kris roughly $10,000 an hour to be married to Kim. And then there’s this article from Glamour – I’m not sure if this is supposed to make me feel “better” about the fact that K&K only lasted 72 days, but in reality it just makes me sad for humanity…and a little disgusted with celebrity culture in general. If all of this isn’t enough to make you question why we think celebrity quickie marriages don’t ruin the sanctity of marriage, but other proposed types of marriage do, then I’m not sure what will make you question. Seriously. It blows my mind.

But political issues aside, this really bothers me personally. I am lucky enough to be legally able to marry the man I love, and we’re fortunate enough to be able to afford a wedding that we can be proud of. It will not be extravagant, it will not be the social event of the year. But it will be perfect for us, and we will get to celebrate a big milestone in our lives with our closest friends and family. We are very, very lucky.

To me, Kim Kardashian’s marriage makes a mockery of all of those couples who work hard at their relationships every day. Married or not, we know that it’s not about the big white dress or the hundreds of guests or the cake or the E! special, as the case may be. I doubt that anyone thought that Kardashian and Humphries would last, but 72 days is just ridiculous. Marriage is not about a wedding. A wedding is just a party. I’m thankful that we have celebrities to remind us just how shallow people can be, and to remind me just how sacred a real commitment to marriage is.

End rant.

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

