My favorite shots: the party

Standard

Despite what the title of this post might suggest, I am not talking about apple pie or Jager-bombs (although I do love a good Dirty Girl Scout. Apologies to the faint of heart. I promise this will get less weird soon.) No, I’m talking about my favorite photos! Like this one, for instance…

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

Beautiful, right? Ever since I started my hunt for a photographer, I’ve been scouring blogs and saving my absolute favorite shots of just about everything wedding – the ceremony, the couple, the party, the reception. But my obsession with saving photos continued long after we booked Tricia DeWar as our wedding photographer, and so I’ve amassed quite a collection. (As you’ll see, I even amassed quite a collection of my favorite photos taken by her. Quite a good thing, in my opinion!) In the next few posts, I’ll show you some of my favorites – some of the poses have made it onto my “must take” list, others I just really like the love and the happiness that shine through.

Today we’re going to start with photos of the bridal party. For me, it’s important that we get photos that will remind us of the people we chose to stand by us on our special day. I’m hoping to get pictures both of me with my girls, Shaun with his guys, and all of us together.

There are the standard “getting ready” shots…

(Source: Mrs. Lioness on Weddingbee)

(Source: Mrs. Lioness on Weddingbee)

(Source: Mrs. Stiletto on Weddingbee)

(Source: Mrs. Stiletto on Weddingbee)

(Source: Mrs. Buttons on Weddingbee)

Then the posed photos of each group before the ceremony.

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

And then sometimes you even start mixing it up…

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Note: I do not like being picked up, so that first photo of the bride with the groomsmen is not happening. I like the idea of switching up the parties and taking pictures together, though.)

I suppose you could also take a lot of those photos after the ceremony, but we’re definitely going to do some before to help with our time crunch between ceremony and reception. Since we’ve almost 100% decided against a first look, though, we’re going to need to do the big group shots once the hitching is officially finished and after the standard photos of our families have been taken at the ceremony site. Here are some of my favorite full-group shots…

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

(Source: 100 Layer Cake)

I’m thinking that in addition to shots like these, I want pictures of me and each of my bridesmaids individually – even if it’s only one shot. I think they’d make nice keepsakes for both me and the girls (Christmas presents!) Whether Shaun wants to do the same with his guys is totally up to him, though.

What do you think? Any favorite shots of the wedding party from weddings that you were a part of? Which of these is your favorite?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

3 responses »

  1. I’ve been putting pictures in my “not a wedding folder” wedding folder every time i come across pictures. i think its good to know what kind of look you are going for.

  2. Pingback: Pretty purchases! Also, a big announcement :) « Wedding in the 920

  3. Pingback: How We Chose Our…Picture People! « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

