The DIY project that wasn’t

Standard

Welcome back everyone! I hope you liked (or at least didn’t mind) our little trip down memory lane last week. While you were getting to know Shaun and I a little better, I undertook another DIY project that I’m going to show you. Before I start, though, I should preface this with a little story first.

I’m still completely torn about what to do for centerpieces. We can’t afford full floral arrangements at every table, so we have to get creative with some other, more affordable options. Truth is, I’m struggling with this. We have a few ideas, but I’m not really in love with any of them. So far. So when I saw this image on one of my favorite wedding blogs, Hey Gorgeous, I thought that it just might be the solution to my centerpiece problems.

(Source: Hey Gorgeous The Blog)

Is that luminary not the most adorable thing ever?? I’ve been browsing the Hey Gorgeous blog for some time now, and Rhi always has awesome DIY projects with (seemingly) easy how-to’s. I’m not going to go into a step by step detail on how I made my own luminaries, because Rhi really lays out absolutely everything you need to know in her original post and I didn’t change a thing. Even if you’re not looking for centerpiece ideas like I am, I suggest that you try this one out if you want a cute luminary for your home, because the project actually was a lot of fun!

Unfortunately, after all was said and done, this project did not solve my centerpiece woes. So where did it all go wrong? It’s hard to say. I tried a couple of different luminaries in different colors – I couldn’t find silver or ivory tissue paper at the store, so I got white, green and orange. It didn’t take me long to realize that multi-colored just was not going to work, so my first attempt was an all white tall vase.

Where to start? First, I added too much glue and not enough water to the glue mixture. Instead of going on transparent, I could hardly tell the difference between the glue and the white tissue paper that I was applying. But I did finish that luminary, although if I’m going to keep it around my house I think I’ll go back and do an additional layer of white tissue paper to make it look a little nicer.

As a last ditch effort, I tried to make a small green luminary that, if it were to be used as a centerpiece, would probably accompany the tall white one on the table. This was by far my best effort, but I still wasn’t wowed by the result. When I was finished, I decided that while the end product looked ok, it just wasn’t what I wanted for my centerpieces. Not to mention, I did not want to spend all of that time and energy to make 30+ of each of these for our tables if I didn’t absolutely love them.

Want to see pictures of my finished product? (Of course you do…but you have to promise not to laugh…)

My supplies – green, white and orange tissue paper punched and ready to be glued on

Small green luminary, without candle

Small green luminary, with candle

Both luminaries, without candles

Both luminaries, with candles

Once again, I apologize for the poor photo quality. My camera is still broken, and I don’t have the heart or the cash to purchase a new one just yet.

So as you can see, the luminaries weren’t a complete failure. In fact, the small green one is lit and sitting on my desk right now as I write. I just don’t think that for all of the time and effort that would go into this project that I would love the outcome as our centerpieces, so the hunt continues.

Have you ever been extremely excited about a certain DIY project, only to be disappointed by how it actually turned out when you tried it yourself? Have you ever decided to abandon a DIY project after the trial run?

6 responses »

  1. Yeah, we’re trying to think of creative non-floral centerpeices as well. Have you tried lace wrapped luminaries? They might be easier since you don’t have to line up the scalloped edges of the paper. Also, I think using a straight-edged vase like they did instead of curved would help with lining things up.
    Keep trying, you still have time! 🙂

    • I do love the lace-wrapped look, but my biggest concern with that would be the cost of the materials – we don’t have a huge budget to devote to centerpieces. Thanks for the advice, though! I do really like how the little luminary turned out, I just don’t love the finished project enough to devote all of the time and effort to making enough for 30+ tables. 🙂 In the meantime, we’re still searching for centerpiece ideas, but I’m really glad I at least tried this project.

    • Thanks, Rhi! And thank YOU so much for posting the project on Hey Gorg in the first place! I was so inspired by it that I literally went out and bought stuff and tried my own that night. I think I might give it another go in the future, but as home decor rather than centerpieces. I had a lot of fun during the attempts, though!

  2. taco… no idea why i didn’t mention it when i saw you … what about those lace paper doily things? maybe they are cheaper than the fabric itself? … also depending on when i would be willing to help w/ crafty fun time 😀

  3. I tried to make tissue paper pomanders and gave up.
    The little green one isn’t bad, but if you don’t love them, they why waste your time? What about tall vases with submerged flowers? (silk or real)

Leave a Reply

