Put a Ring on It

Standard

Hello again! I’m going to conclude this week’s crash course of getting to know me and Shaun by telling you the story of how we got engaged! But first, let me set the stage a little, so I can explain just how awesome it was.

As I mentioned in my last post, around the time Shaun and I reunited, I had just received my LSAT score and so could begin applying to law schools. If you’ve been following my blog, you already know how this story ends – I found out that I got into the UW (my #1 choice) in December! That was immediately followed by Christmas (my favorite holiday) and a whirlwind trip to California for the Rose Bowl – my last bowl game as a Badger Band member – on January 1st. To say the least, it was a good month. Little did I know, it was going to get even better.

Cancun.

Shaun hates the winter. Which is quite ironic, because we live in Wisconsin – also known as the land of snow from November to March (if we’re lucky). I guess I can’t blame him, though, because he works outside – so he has to experience that harsh weather even more than most of us. His solution to this problem was to plan a vacation for us during my winter break. His destination of choice? Cancun.

The pictures above were pictures of our hotel, the Royal Solaris. It had awesome pools, a gorgeous beach and best of all, warm weather. Landing in Cancun on January 6th was literally a warm welcome compared to Wisconsin. (Yes, I realize that I’m spoiled – a free trip to Pasadena for a week and then a trip to Cancun a week later? I promise I counted my blessings.)

When we got to the hotel, we headed up to our room and were a little overwhelmed by just how nice it was.

So pretty and beachy, right? But we didn’t stay there for long. Only off of the plane for about an hour and we headed straight to the beach for some sun and some surf. (We don’t actually surf. We just played in the waves.) After a few hours the sun was starting to set and we started to get hungry, so we headed up to our room to change for dinner. We still had a little time before dinner officially began, so we headed back down to the beach for a little walk and some fruity drinks. Have I mentioned how much I love Mexico?

We found a little table on the beach and proceeded to drink our fruity drinks. I must have been uncharacteristically quiet, trying to take in all of the surroundings and just how lucky I was to be here with such an awesome guy as Shaun. I say “must have,” because right then, Shaun said something that I will never forget. Word for word?

Don’t be sad. I’m going to give you a ring!

Seriously. And the next thing I knew he was kneeling on the ground next to the chair that I was sitting in, asking me if I would be his wife. I don’t know exactly how I answered, but it was definitely in the affirmative. 🙂 And then we took some pictures.

Now in addition to a full week in the sunny goodness of Cancun, I had a sparkly something on my finger to distract me from real life! Needless to say, the rest of the trip was absolutely amazing – beaches, clubs and so much good food. But best of all, I was with my favorite person in the world – a person that I could now call my fiance!

For a while after the proposal, I was a little hung up on the “Don’t be sad” lead in. I mean, I wasn’t sad! I guess that when my face is relatively expressionless, it’s super serious looking. But looking back, I’m so glad that Shaun proposed in a way that was quintessentially him – kind of goofy and awkward at times, but so kind and romantic and all around wonderful.

Looking back, I’m pretty sure that it will be tough for any month in the future to compete with that late December/early January as the best single month of my life. Seriously – acceptance to law school, Christmas, Rose Bowl, Mexico, engagement. All in under 30 days. It was seriously epic. Not that it would be impossible to beat…just pretty tough. That’s my own personal, totally unbiased opinion. 😉  I was flying high for a long time after that – I mean, who wouldn’t be??

So that’s our story! And now you know a little more about who these people are who are planning the wedding you’ve been reading about for 9 months. Next week, we’ll be back to your regularly scheduled wedding planning programming.

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Winter Wedding Projects « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

