I’m a DIY Bride! My first completed project.

Standard

Happy Saturday, lovelies! I’m happy to report that I’ve survived my first week of law school. Even better than that, today is a very exciting post for me because I’m going to share with you my first DIY project for the wedding that’s been completed!

 

As you probably recall, I’m drawing my inspiration for my hair from a look donned by Kate Winslet in Titanic. While it won’t be exactly the same, here’s my reference for you again (in case you forgot…and because it’s so pretty…)

(Source)

After talking with my fabulous hair stylist who will be creating my wedding day up-do, we decided that the easiest way to recreate this look without spending a ton of money would be to get 1) a headband and 2) a matching long necklace to create that wrapped-throughout look. This task was easier said than done, but after a trip to Charming Charlie’s in Madison with one of my personal attendants, I found the perfect long necklace for wrapping:

(Personal photo, necklace from Charming Charlie – $14.99)

When I found this necklace, I knew that it would be perfect for wrapping because it features ivory pearls and clear crystals, both of which will compliment my overall wedding day look. Plus, it’s simple enough that it won’t be overpowering, but the pearls and crystals will add a nice little “pop” of something special in addition to the main headband in front.

Once I found the necklace, the bigger problem was finding a matching headband. Unfortunately, Charming Charlie doesn’t sell headbands of this type, so I couldn’t find anything that matched at the store. A quick search of Etsy told me that I’d either have to get my headband custom made to match, or I would have to spend a lot of money (or both).

After thinking about it for a while, I decided that rather than spend a lot of money and order something online that may or may not match, I’d make my own! I admit, I’ve had wedding DIY fever for a while, but this is the first project other than our invitations that I’ve undertaken so far. Here are the results (and some of the instructions, in case you’re interested in how this all went down):

My supplies: Beads, jewelry wire, and pliers/wire cutters. All purchased at Joann Fabrics.

A quick Google search on DIY jewelry took me to this post on The Knot where I got a simple list of materials and basic instructions. Armed with everything I needed, I started beading!

Crimping the end bead with the pliers that starts the section of wire.

Adding a bead to the wire…

…and wrapping the wire around the headband to secure it.

A little less than half way done.

After a few episodes of How I Met Your Mother, I was finished! In the end, I’m very happy with the way the headband turned out and how I have a matching set for my wedding day hairstyle that will be exactly what I want it to be. That being said, I’m not a professional jeweler, so I know that I probably could have wrapped the wire in a better way than the way I did. Still, when I’m wearing it, I can hardly tell that it’s homemade, not store bought. Doing this project myself saved me a lot of money (seriously, do an Etsy search for bridal headbands, especially those with crystals or pearls!) and meant that I got exactly what I wanted in the end.

And now, the finished product!

I should note, that section near the top where the pearls appear to be sagging lays flat when I’m wearing it.
(Sorry for the poor photo quality. These had to be taken with my phone because my camera stopped working last weekend.)

Me wearing it!

Obviously this is not how my hair will be on the day of the wedding, but this gives you a general idea of what it looks like actually on. 🙂 Again, it’s not perfect, but I’m extremely proud of my ability to pull together something gorgeous that matches and fits my vision without spending a ton of money. What do you think?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Cure for DIY Withdrawal « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

