Working on my fitness

Standard

Hello, lovelies! Today, I’ve decided to update you on a very personal topic that I wrote about some time ago. I’m glad that this post is an optimistic one because, as you’ll remember, the last time I talked about losing weight (for the wedding and for life), I was not quite as sure that it would work.

The truth is, things got worse before they got better. I posted about my challenge to myself to be 150 pounds on my wedding day back in April, but living at home for the summer (with Mom’s wonderful homemade cooking) steered me more in the wrong direction than the right one. I reached what might have been my heaviest weight ever this summer, and a routine trip to the doctor reminded me that I’m not just doing this for aesthetics, but for my health as well. But I have good news! I’ve taken some steps that are really working for me, motivating me to keep with it and are actually making a difference in both my number on the scale and the way I feel on a day to day basis. Here’s what I’ve found that’s working for me now, after struggling with my weight forever:

1. Weight Watchers Online

A screenshot of my homepage at WeightWatchers.com

Five weeks ago, I bit the bullet and joined Weight Watchers. I use the online tools (so I don’t attend meetings, which add to the cost of your plan), but so far I absolutely love them. I’m not great at calorie counting on my own, but using the Points system, I know exactly how much I can eat each day, and can load up on 0-point foods (like fresh fruits and veggies!). For some reason, this plan has clicked for me like no other calorie counting system has before. I feel obligated to track, maybe because I’m paying for the program and will feel guilty if I waste that money. At $17/month (after the special 3 month introductory rate), it’s not the cheapest of options, but that adds to the motivation factor.

The plan makes sense, and it’s not a fad. They focus on making changes for life, which is the healthy (and right) way to do this. I think the best part about it so far is that if I want a cupcake, I can have a cupcake. If I want pizza from Pizza Hut with my roommates, I can have it. Sure, it puts a giant dent in my points allowance for the day, but supplementing with those 0-point foods that I mentioned before really helps, and I don’t feel like I have to “give up” anything. Plus, seeing just how bad fast food is for the body (in cold, hard point values) makes me hesitant to eat it at all, and I’ve been eating and cooking at home more, where I have the control. Success!

So far, I’ve lost just under 10 pounds since I started back in the beginning of August. I know that this is a pretty dramatic loss right in the beginning (probably from portion control, my self-recognized problem with food), and that it won’t continue forever. I need to start adding more activity into my schedule if I want to continue to lose to meet my goals for the wedding. Which brings me to the next point…

2. A Pedometer

New Balance Via Base+ Pedometer, $9.99 from Target

While I was at Target yesterday stocking up on school supplies, I picked up a $10 pedometer from New Balance that tracks steps and distance. To start adding fitness into my routine, my goal for now is to hit the recommended 10,000 steps-per-day by walking to and from class. There’s a bus line right by our house and I could easily take that to school, but by walking when the weather is still so nice out, I know I’ll be making positive changes in my health. Other goals include taking the stairs instead of elevators or escalators when it makes sense and starting a weight-lifting schedule 3 times a week (hello, strapless dress!)

These small, but significant changes are really changing the way I use food day-to-day, and it makes me stop and think before I eat something. If I’m just eating because I’m bored (another bad habit of mine), I certainly don’t want to waste my daily Points on that! For now, I’ve also abandoned the “150 by the wedding” goal, because I realize that it’s unrealistic for me at this time. I may still get there, but for now I’m focusing on small changes that will help me to be healthier and happier – not just skinnier. I also have found myself in the delicate situation of having ordered a dress that fits me now, a dress which I love and cannot wait to wear on my wedding day. While I realize that losing weight may mean that the dress will have to be altered in the future to make it fit perfectly again, I’m willing to take that chance (and pay those fees) if need be.

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

  1. get it! I know how you feel. After my recent trip to florida to visit my bff along with julia kinney, we were all like “this is disgusting”. so now we have weekly weigh ins with one another, along with picture and measurements. Its really been helpful to have other people there to keep you motivated, and to celebrate your weight loss success with. I’m down 3 lbs from last week, tomorrow is weigh in so we’ll see where we’re at! so what im saying is, keep with it, and you’ll feel good about yourself. its all about the life style change.

    also, my new favorite snack: sugar free jello (~5 calories) with fat free whipped cream (~10 calories). It tastes so good!

Leave a Reply

