Happily engaged or just waiting to be married?

Standard

Shaun and I have been engaged for over 7 months, now. During the move-in back to Madison, a friend of mine asked if I’m still happy to be engaged. At first, I thought that was a strange question because if I wasn’t happy being engaged, why on earth would we be getting married?

After thinking about it, though, there are definitely some great things about being engaged that make me wish we were just married already. (Although I’m not quite sure that’s what she had in mind when she asked the question…I’m thinking her train of thought was more along the lines of “don’t you wish you were still single?”)

This is no secret, but with the move and with school starting soon, I really wish Shaun was living in Madison, too. And I feel that if we were already married, he’d already be here. And as the wedding costs continue to mount, sometimes it’s tempting to think about eloping…but then I think about our wedding day and I know that I truly do want a “real” wedding.

So in the end, yes, and I am still happy we’re engaged. Sometimes I wish we were already married or that the next 10 months would go by faster, but I know that this time is something special, too. And I definitely am glad that I’m done with being single…something I never really loved all that much anyway.

(And for those of you wondering: yes, I did write this post just so I could use that graphic. I find it hilarious. But also kind of true.)

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

