How we finally found a florist

Standard

If you’ve been following this blog since I started writing, you know that I booked most of my vendors back in February when we decided on a date. Sure, booking almost a year and a half in advance might seem excessive to most people, but what can I say? I’m a control freak. Booking early had one advantage…everyone had our date available at that time.

There was one very important vendor that we didn’t book right away, though, and if you’ve read any other posts (or, well, the title of this post), you know that we’ve been struggling to find the perfect florist. I can finally say, we did it! We booked a florist and I’m so excited about the one that we chose.

So why has this been such a production? I mean, they’re just flowers. Yes. They’re just flowers. I can’t even say that we had a specific vision for the flowers that wasn’t being fulfilled. Really, in the end, it boiled down to a waiting game.

As with all of our vendors, we’re sort of limited by our location: rural Wisconsin. Our ceremony and reception will both be held about 15 minutes east of Green Bay, and we were lucky up until this point to find small-town vendors that had superior quality products but avoided the high cost that comes with a vendor from Green Bay. (Yes, I know that most people don’t consider Green Bay a “big city.” But in the world of wedding planning, I swear that the closer you get to any city, the more expensive prices get. Really.) I also had a pretty specific idea of what I wanted from these flowers, but wanted to give a vendor creative leeway, working from inspirations such as these, then making the bouquets more “summery” and “fun” and “us” (yes, I’m super specific sometimes):

My inspiration pics for our flowers – orange lilies! I also want to incorporate yellows, greens and ivory (for me)

So with our inspiration pictures in mind, I called a few florists in the small towns near our area who we haven’t had bad experiences with. This meant that we called…two places. Our pickiness comes from the fact that my aunt owned a flower shop for many years, so we were spoiled with gorgeous corsages for events of all kinds, made with the love and care of a family members. Unfortunately, my aunt no longer owns her flower shop, so having her do our flowers wasn’t an option.

After making these initial calls, we decided to wait until after my mom’s cousin’s wedding in August to see what her flowers looked like. Our reasoning, of course, was that if we loved the way her flowers looked, we’d use her florist. Unfortunately, while her flowers were very pretty, we weren’t overly crazy about them. So it was back to square one (and I admit, it felt like we waited a long time for nothing, but in the end, I’m glad we did.)

We went back to the very first florist we talked to and got a quote…which turned out to be way under budget! But the owner told us right up front that another bride was looking at our date…and she was the owner’s family friend. Needless to say, my mind went into panic mode for a second. That is, until Tammy (the owner) said that it’s definitely possible to do two weddings in one day. Insert sigh of relief here.

In a weird twist of events, it turns out that one of our family friends is an employee at this particular flower shop, so she offered to do most of the work on our flowers for the wedding. And when we found that out, I was completely sold. We paid our deposit and made Blossoms of Denmark our florist!

It feels so good to have all of our vendors chosen. It really does. And even though we didn’t go with a “friendor” for our florist, we still get some of the benefits because of our family friend who works there (and is invited to the wedding)! Also, what do you think of our inspiration pics? I know that our actual flowers will probably look way different, but I’d love to hear feedback.

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

  1. Pingback: How We Chose…the Rest of our Vendors! « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

