My first Etsy purchases

Standard

I mentioned in my last post that while I’m in Madison and trying to cope with our renewed long-distance status, I’ve been focusing a lot of energy on wedding details until school starts in September. In addition to coming one step closer to finding a florist (we’re so close it kind of hurts), I’ve been finally starting to think about little details that will make the day special.

If you’re not familiar with Etsy, it’s a website where crafty people can set up personal shops to sell everything from handmade jewelry to vintage items to…whatever. Best of all, there’s a special “wedding” section, where it’s seriously easy to get overwhelmed by pretty things that you might “need” for your special day. I’m considering purchasing some things for my wedding day look from Etsy, but I’ll talk more about that a different day. Today, I’d like to share with you all, my first Etsy purchase!

In looking around the Internet at wedding blogs over the past several months, I’ve found gorgeous pictures like the following of wedding dresses hanging on personalized hangers.

(Source, Source, Source)

Let’s just say I fell in love. In the spirit of that first hanger, I decided to get a “mrs.” hanger of my very own. After some shopping around on Etsy, I finally found the perfect seller to make my own hanger. It’s being shipped to me right now, but Elizabeth was nice enough to send me a photo of the finished project to oogle over in the meantime. I present to you…

My personalized wedding dress hanger from Etsy seller NoviaArtesana!

I could not be more thrilled with how this turned out! I love the rustic feel of the hanger (let’s face it, I’m a country girl at heart) and think it will make a gorgeous place to hang my dress before I’m ready to put it on the day of the wedding. Now, I’m just anxiously waiting to see it in person.

In addition to this particular purchase, I ordered a few other things on Etsy that same day, but I can’t show them to you just yet…no matter how much I’d love to. I’m really bad at keeping secrets, so it was probably a bad idea to order the gifts for my bridesmaids so early before the wedding, but I think I picked out some perfect items that I will definitely share…once the girls have received them. 🙂

While it may not be a pivotal detail to our overall wedding day, I think little touches like this hanger will help make our wedding day really feel like our own. And you have to start somewhere, right?

Have you ever worked with an Etsy seller on a custom purchase or ordered anything off of Etsy? Were you as happy with the final result as I am? I want to hear about it!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Gifting the ‘Maids « Life. Love. Law.

Leave a Reply

