My ring on Glamour.com

Standard

This morning, as I sat at my computer drinking coffee, thinking about work and gearing up for bridesmaid dress shopping tonight, I stumbled upon a wonderful surprise…

Yes, that’s my ring. No surprise there. The surprise is that I found that picture on Glamour.com’s Wedding blog Save the Date! I subscribe to Glamour and have read the blog basically every day since we got back from Mexico in January, so when I saw blogger Kim Fusaro’s call for pictures of real girl’s engagement rings, I submitted mine. But I never actually thought it would show up on the site! There are tons of other pretty rings in that post, so I suggest you go and check them out.

One thing I should probably mention, because it irked me a bit when I saw the post. All of the other featured girls have fabulous proposal stories under their pictures, which I am pretty sure (I can’t entirely remember, it was a while ago) I included with my submission as well. But for some reason, the caption with my picture is a quote: “My ring may not be very big, but all those little diamonds sure do sparkle!” Yes, I said that. But I didn’t say just that. I feel like I should put it in context, because that quote on its own screams ungrateful. I am not ungrateful. I love my ring and never take it off. But my ring has a 1/3 carat center stone and is about 3/4 carat total weight, so when I submitted it to a website that usually features diamonds starting at 1 carat all the way up to Kim Kardashian…I felt I had to defend it a bit. I gushed about the unique setting and how much I love my ring despite (or maybe even because of) the fact that many who live in big cities would consider it “small.” I’m sad that it’s the only descriptor that was put with my ring, but so far the comments have all been very positive so I’m extremely happy. (And I still love Kim Fusaro and everyone at Glamour, I’m honored just to make it on the blog!)

All in all, this was an extra special way to wake up this morning, and an amazing start to my Friday! Now I’m super excited to see all of my girls and go bridesmaid dress shopping tonight. Do you have any big plans for the day? Ever been featured on a blog and got ridiculously over-excited about it? I want to hear!

 

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

2 responses »

    • Awww, thank you, Amanda! I like a couple of the other ones there, but I’m really not a fan of halo settings which seem to be in style lately. Of course, I think mine is the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

