Winning Wednesday – highlights from the last week

Standard

Today, I’m going to take a page out of Jamie Pilgrim’s book and give you a Winning Wednesday post. I may or may not continue these posts in the future, but this week it just seems perfect because there are a few things to celebrate! Here we go…

1. My New Computer!

(Source: Apple.com)

This post is brought to you from my very own, brand new Macbook Air! For those of you who follow me on Twitter, you know that I have been looking to upgrade my old Macbook that I got from 2007. I debated for a long time between Macbook Pro and a new Air, and finally decided to go with the newer model after visiting them both at a local Best Buy. I couldn’t be happier! Now I can get to all of my social media accounts super speedily. Which brings me to my next point, because this new display will be super amazing for…

2. My (Early) Acceptance to Hogwarts!

(Source: Screenshot of Pottermore.com)

Ok…so I didn’t really get an owl telling bearing that magical letter. I missed that chance when my 11th birthday passed. However, I did score a Pottermore Beta account! If you don’t follow Harry Potter and the wonderful J.K. Rowling, earlier this summer the author announced this little beauty of a website that will be a behind-the-scenes interactive experience about the books. It will feature games and a few social media elements…rumors are you will even get sorted! The site opens to the general public in October, but starting July 31st, a limited number of accounts are being granted each day for 7 days, one for each of the books. On Tuesday morning (Day 3), I got up super early, found the Magic Quill and won my early access account! My username (chosen by the site, to protect privacy because children under 13 are allowed to participate with parent’s permission) is QuaffleNox203.

3. (Meeting) My Photographer!

(Source: Tricia DeWar Photography)

Now to actually tie this post back to the wedding, I told you in the last post that there was a very exciting wedding related event that took place last weekend. On Friday, my little brother got his senior pictures taken by Tricia DeWar, our fabulous wedding photographer, and I got to meet her! My mom insisted on a few “buddy pictures” of my siblings and me, so we got to hang out with Tricia in Kewaunee as she took my brother’s photos and asked questions about our upcoming wedding and our vision for the day. She’s hilarious and fun and exactly what I was hoping for when I picked her online back in February. I was a bit nervous to meet her, but now I’m not really sure why I was…she’s great!

I’ll have to post a few of my brother’s senior pictures in a few weeks when the proofs come back, but in the mean time, check out my Pinterest account. Specifically in my Wedding Photo Ideas board, I’ve pinned several of my favorite photos of other couples on their wedding day (both by Tricia and other photographers) – but all of the ones that our photographer takes are stunning! I know we’ll be in good hands on our special day.

Are you having a Winning Wednesday? I’d love to hear about it!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

2 responses »

  1. Haha, yesss I have someone hooked! But congrats on the new ‘puter, glad you ignored my comment and got an air because just a day or two ago Jo and I were having a look at the new Mac lines and apparently they’re very comparable now (again, all according to him, I have no idea what to look for other than pizazz)

    I can’t wait to see your wedding photos! By the way you have great taste in photographers, I loved your engagement shoot!

    • Thanks, Jamie! I admit, I love your Winning Wednesday posts. 🙂 And I’m really happy I went with the Air. All of the comments from friends were super helpful, but ended up being about 50/50 so didn’t decisively sway me one way or the other. Going to Best Buy and seeing them both helped…in the end I just couldn’t resist the pretty newness of the Air. It was a little more expensive, but worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

