A discussion of “The One”

Standard

Welcome back! In yesterday’s post I mentioned that I don’t really believe in “the one,” but I realize that this is potentially a controversial view. So, naturally…I’d love to hear your thoughts! I’ll let you know how I feel on the topic, but what I really want is your feedback. I love when I get to know you guys better.

At the very least, it looks like some people on the South Texas Coast disagree with me.
(Source)

We hear a lot about how people search their entire lives for “the one,”  and how only those who are truly lucky find him or her. How you define “the one” obviously varies from person to person, but for me it’s an over-simplified way of saying “the person that I choose to spend the rest of my life in a monogamous and committed relationship.” Again, that’s a very specific definition that fits my view of the person I was looking for, but by no means does that mean that’s how you should think of “the one.”

That definition is all well and good. I’m positive that Shaun fits my aforementioned definition for me. Why, then, don’t I believe in “the one?” I think the reason that I have a problem with that phrase is because it’s so simple. To me, “the one” implies that there is only one person out there who could make you happy, and in order to find that person you must search tirelessly and when you find them you will just know.

Maybe that’s over-exaggerating a little bit, but that’s the connotation that springs to my mind whenever the phrase “the one” is used. I remember sitting in freshman English class, reading Romeo and Juliet when someone in my class (probably inappropriately) asked our teacher if she believed in “the one.” I’ll never forget the answer:

“I think there are many different people out there who could be ‘the one,’ and it’s just a matter of which one you happen to find at the right time in your life. Besides, Romeo and Juliet weren’t really in love…more like two teenagers in lust who just wanted to piss off their parents.”

Of course, a room full of 14-year olds gasped at that response. Romeo and Juliet not really in love? Psh. But in hindsight, I’m sure that I agree with this notion of “the one” more than those notions that we see so often portrayed in movies.

What do you think? Am I being to pessimistic? Letting negative connotations of “the one” ruin a perfectly plausible concept for me? I’d love to hear any counterarguments that you have about this topic – especially since its one that I’m sure a lot of people have given thought to!

(Heads up, my next post will go back to wedding related-ness, so stay tuned for that. I’m about to give you all a peek into my ultimate source of inspiration for our big day!)

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

Leave a Reply

