50 Years

Standard

Since I missed posting on Monday and instead told you about my super exciting adventures in the world of guest blogging on Tuesday, I decided to post today instead of Friday to keep things interesting. 🙂 That…and I like the way WordPress’s calendar widget looks on the sidebar when I post every other day. Yep, I can be vain like that.

Anywho, today I have a very special post in mind because we have a very exciting event coming up this weekend that I can’t wait to attend…


My grandparents are celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary!

I love that picture of them. I love my grandma’s glasses and the smug “yep, we just got married” grin on my grandpa’s face. The image screams Old Hollywood to me, even though I know that they were in small town Wisconsin when it was taken. In fact, they were probably no more than 10 miles from the spot that Shaun and I will be married. I think that’s pretty cool.

In going through old photos to make decorations for the party, I’ve found that a lot of living goes on in 50 years. I’ve seen pictures of my mom and her siblings in diapers…followed by pictures of their children in diapers…and even (for some of my cousins, not me) pictures of their children in diapers.

But it’s about more than just offspring. My grandparents took many trips together over the years. We saw them at the Hoover Dam. In Hawaii. In Alaska. At a Badger game. Ok…that last one isn’t really that much of a trip…but they did go and they happened to take a photo of the band in 1991. When I was two years old. They had no way of knowing that some day that would be me on the field they’d be watching, but somehow it happened. And I also think that’s pretty cool.

It’s funny how some things change so much (the fashion!) while others stay so the same. Looking through my grandparent’s wedding photo album was like looking at a piece of history, but it really wasn’t so different from wedding photos today. Sure, the cameras are fancier. The dresses have gone in and out of style. But at the end of the day, it’s about love. Those things are timeless, and they’re beautiful.

I will consider myself the luckiest girl alive if I can have as many happy years with Shaun as my grandma and grandpa have had so far. True, things weren’t always easy for them (is life ever easy? I doubt it). But they got through and still love each other as much, or maybe more, as they did the day they got married. Their love is different now than it was then, but that makes it even better. It’s grown and evolved into not just a relationship, but a family.

So congrats, grandma and grandpa! I can’t wait to share this Sunday with you – I hope you enjoy the party!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: 7 Things I Love About Shaun « Wedding in the 920

Leave a Reply

