My Celeb Idol – Amber Riley

Standard

As most of you know…I’m a Gleek. I love Glee. I love the plot, I love the characters, I love the music. It’s one of the few shows that I have to tune in every week to see. That being said, I’m sad that this season is over…but I figured I’d take a moment to talk about possibly my only celebrity idol: Amber Riley.

Like her on the show or not, girl’s got style. She’s confident and gorgeous. She rocks looks on the runway that bigger girls are usually told to “stay away from” and I love it. I think Amber is a great role model to young girls – did anyone else see the Twitter campaign she did with Seventeen magazine centered around the hashtag #17BeautyPeace? All day women posted their makeup-less pictures on Facebook proudly for all to see…that’s real beauty right there!

These dresses…wow. She rocks them. And I can see most of them as wedding gowns, if they were white. (That’s how I’m tying this post into my blog, so deal with it, haha.) Not that I would personally wear these styles as my wedding gown…but still gorgeous. Don’t you agree?

Amber proves that curvy girls can rock a mermaid silhouette in this Oliver Tolentino gown from the 2011 Golden Globes. I love the sparkly silver! I don’t know how I feel about 1 shoulder gowns…on myself or anyone else…but I like this one for the most part. Especially with the belt.

It doesn’t take any stretch of the imagination to see how this gorgeous Grecian-style gown from LA designer Melissa Masse that Amber wore to the 2010 Emmys could be a wedding dress. Flowy Grecians are another one of those styles often on the “no-no” list for plus-size brides (usually we’re told to wear things with “structure”), but once again, I think Amber proves the critics wrong. Again, not totally my style for the big day, but it’s a pretty dress for a destination or casual wedding.

I love Amber in this teal Tadashi Shoji at the 41st Annual NAACP Image Awards. I’m not a huge fan of strapless gowns myself (even though a lot of people love them!) and this off-the shoulder/cap-sleeve unique neckline is to die for. I do wish the bottom of the dress was a bit fuller (especially if it were for a wedding dress), but I could also see this being a very pretty bridesmaid look that would work on a variety of figures.

And finally…who could forget this amazing Anne Barge that Amber wore at the 2011 SAG Awards? In fact, this look was based on a wedding dress by the designer that Amber loved, according to Barge. No wonder it’s so elegant. 🙂 I saved this look for last because a) it’s my favorite and b) I think it’s the most wedding-worthy if the gown was white. But as I’ve told y’all before…my style is more the classic A-line or slight dropped waist so this is probably too extreme for me.

What do you think? Maybe I’m crazy for my girl-crush on Ms. Amber but I think she’s fabulous. And I was sick of talking about minute details so much…and this seemed like a fun way to get a post in! Let me know if you want to see more posts like this one, too…I’d be happy to oblige.

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

  1. Pingback: My Case of Wedding-Brain « Wedding in the 920

Leave a Reply

