My Last Week of School and a New Project

Standard

I’m going to veer a little off the wedding path with today’s post. In just 2 weeks, I’ll be graduating!

Right now, I’m swamped. Well, maybe that’s not the right way to say that. I’m actually overwhelmed with schoolwork and other things to do, but I just can’t make myself be productive right now. I have an 8 page philosophy paper due tomorrow at 1:00 pm, a one-page extra credit paper due tomorrow at 11:00 am…and that’s just tomorrow. The rest of the week is filled with exams (both in class and take-home) as well.

To top it all off, I’ve decided that to kick start my get-healthy initiative (and get ready for dress shopping!) I’m going to run every day until May 16th. It’s extremely easy for me to make a “2-3 times a week” commitment and not follow through on it. The “I’ll do it tomorrow” mentality is what kills me when it comes to both my schoolwork and most of the rest of my life. I’m a world-class procrastinator. I’m trying to be proactive and fix that now…it’s just that everything is piling up at once. Still, I refuse to use that as an excuse. I’m going to make this work this time, and I’ll just have to find a way to get it all done.The promising note is that after this week, I’m basically done with undergrad. I have one final during finals week. That’s it.

On top of all of this, May is going to be an exciting and busy month for me, because I’m taking on yet another goal of mine that always gets pushed aside to the tomorrow that never comes.

I’m going to start writing a book.

I’ve always dreamed of being an author. A published author would be even better…but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. May marks the Next Big Author competition/challenge. Basically, wannabe authors from around the country (maybe world?) write the opening chapters of a book and submit them online, where they are reviewed by other submitters. The top reviewed stories are sent to major publishing houses. Exciting, right? I think the accountability of doing this at the same time as millions of other people is what will help me actually get those first 5000-7000 words written to submit at the end of May.

Will this May be the month where I finally nip all of my procrastination habits in the bud? Probably not. For instance, I’m writing this blog post right now instead of actually working on my paper, or running. But I’m hoping that by making a few small changes and by continuing to challenge myself, I’ll be a better person because of it.

Happy May!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

3 responses »

  1. “For instance, I’m writing this blog post right now instead of actually working on my paper, or running. ”

    But you’re putting what your goals are OUT THERE. That’s a huge level of accountability and one I’m super impressed by!!

    If you need a paper-writing/study partner or a running buddy, let me know!

Leave a Reply

