A Royally Impersonal Wedding

Standard

It’s 5:44 am CST, and yes, I’m up watching the Royal Wedding. In my defense, I would never have gotten up this early to watch this if my mom and I weren’t leaving in about 15 minutes to move my sister home from Houghton. But I couldn’t resist writing a blog post because right now, during the ceremony, both William and Kate (but William especially) look so…bored.

Kate looks stunning. I can already hear the critics saying that her dress is too simple, not fancy enough for a princess. But the gorgeous lace and the detail on the bottom of the dress by designer Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen (which was successfully kept secret until today) is definitely pretty close to something  that I would love to wear on my own wedding day…minus the sleeves because it will be July.

A close up of Kate's dress, before the ceremony

Finally, the bride and groom have stood up, along with everyone in attendance, to sing a song…and they finally look happy. I can imagine with all of the formality surrounding this wedding that it would be difficult to inject your own personality into the day. At least, into the ceremony.

It’s times like these that I’m super happy that I’m not a royal, or famous, or someone who the entire world will be watching as I get married. I’m glad that Shaun and I will be able to do our wedding our way and not be scrutinized too much for the things that we do outside of the box. I’m glad we’ll be able to throw in our own personal touches throughout the day to make it more meaningful.

Most of all, I’m glad the way I look and act won’t be scrutinized by millions and millions of people both leading up to and on that day.

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

  1. 1. i love love LOVE her dress…but you know me.
    2. you will look awesome on your wedding day (and every day). I can hardly wait!

Leave a Reply

